66% voter turnout in 10 seats of Madhya Pradesh

  • HT Correspondent & IANS, Hindustan Times, Bhopal
  • |
  • Updated: Apr 25, 2014 07:56 IST

EC staff member holds an envelope containing polling material after collecting an electronic voting machine and other election material at a distribution centre on the eve of polls in Mumbai. (AFP photo)

Around 66% electors voted in Madhya Pradesh's 10 Lok Sabha seats and one assembly constituency on Thursday. The figure was an impressive improvement from the 2009 LS polls tally of 54% in the 10 constituencies.

At three polling booths, voters effected a poll boycott, but the issue was later resolved.

The parliamentary constituencies where voting took place were Vidisha, Dewas, Ujjain, Indore, Dhar, Ratlam, Mandsaur, Khargone, Khandwa and Betul.

In Vidisha, the Bharatiya Janata Party's Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha, Sushma Swaraj, is pitted against Congress candidate Lakshman Singh, the younger brother of Congress general secretary Digvijaya Singh.

For the Indore seat, the BJP has fielded Sumitra Mahajan who is contesting against Satyanarayan Patel of the Congress and Anil Trivedi of the Aam Aadmi Party.

Other prominent candidates include former Union minister and Congress leader Kantilal Bhuriya in Ratlam and Congress candidate Meenakshi Natarajan in Mandsaur.

A 48-year-old booth level officer at Harda under the Betul constituency died of a heart attack when he was on his way to the booth from his native Kamardha village on Thursday morning. Nine electronic voting machines were changed following glitches.

This was the third and final round of polling in the state. The first two phases saw voting in 19 constituencies. Of the 10 constituencies where voting is being held Thursday, the Congress had won six in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections.


also read

Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi left in the cold for now

blog comments powered by Disqus