Live: Polling begins in UP, Rajnath, Sonia in fray

  • PTI, Lucknow
  • |
  • Updated: Apr 30, 2014 07:51 IST
  • Key candidates

    A combination picture of eight key candidates in the fray for the Lok Sabha elections, phase 7. (Agencies)

  • Vinod Khanna

    BJP leader and actor Vinod Khanna arrives at the party's national executive in New Delhi. (PTI photo)

  • Vijay Inder Singla

    Sangrur Congress candidate Vijay Inder Singla (R) during campaigning at Malerkotla. (HT photo/Bharat Bhushan)

  • Sonia Gandhi

    Congress president Sonia Gandhi waves at an election meeting at Chevella near Hyderabad. (PTI photo)

  • Sharad Yadav

    A file photo of JD(U) president Sharad Yadav. (HT photo)

  • Shankersinh Vaghela

    A file photo of former Gujarat chief minister Shankersinh Vaghela. (Agencies)

  • Rita Bahuguna Joshi

    Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi during a road show for party candidate Rita Bahuguna Joshi in Lucknow. (PTI photo)

  • Rajnath Singh

    President of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Rajnath Singh attends an election rally at Kalyan in Mumbai.(PTI photo)

  • Partap Singh Bajwa

    PPCC president Partap Singh Bajwa (L) with during a meeting of the Congress workers in Patiala. (HT photo/Bharat Bhushan)

  • Paresh Rawal

    BJP candidate from Ahmedabad East Paresh Rawal is seen during an election rally

Polling for 14 seats in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh began on Wednesday to decide the fate of 233 candidates, including political heavyweights Sonia Gandhi and Rajnath Singh.

Three Union ministers and chairperson of a national commission are also in the fray in this phase which covers Bundelkhand region and parts of central UP.

The focus would be on Rae Bareli and Lucknow Lok Sabha seats from where Congress president Sonia Gandhi and BJP president Rajnath Singh are in the fray.

Sonia, who is contesting from her traditional seat of Rae Bareli, has no major contestant against her with Samajwadi Party deciding not to field a candidate against her.

The prestigious Lucknow Lok Sabha seat, which is in the limelight with the entry of BJP national president Rajnath Singh, is set to witness a tricky contest.

Rajnath, who is facing a four-cornered fight, has two tasks at hand - first to maintain the legacy of former prime minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee, and second to ensure a victory margin matching with his political stature.

Ever since the Ram temple movement, the BJP has never lost the Lucknow seat. The people of the city had elected Vajpayee for five-times on the trot between 1991 and 2004.

Rajnath, a sitting MP from Ghaziabad, is facing challenge from former UP Congress state president and sitting MLA Rita Bahuguna Joshi.

Joshi contested the 2009 Lok Sabha election, but lost to Lalji Tandon of the BJP by a margin of 37,000 votes. Minister of state in Akhilesh government, Abhishek Mishra, and minister in previous BSP government, Nakul Dubey, are also in fray.

Mohanlalganj, which is adjacent to Lucknow, is witnessing a triangular fight between two former ministers -- Kaushal Kishore and RK Chaudhary -- and sitting SP MP Sushila Saroj.

While Kaushal Kishore is contesting on a BJP ticket, Chaudhary has been fielded by the BSP.

In Kanpur, Union coal minister Sriprakash Jaiswal is facing stiff competition from former BJP national president Murli Manohar Joshi, who has shifted from Varanasi after Narendra Modi decided to contest from the holy city.

The political atmosphere in Bundelkhand has heated up with the entry of former Madhya pradesh chief minister and sitting BJP MLA from Charkhari, Uma Bharti.

Bharti is pitted against Union minister of state for rural development Pradeep Jain Aditya, who would be trying to retain his seat.

Bharti, who is banking largely on a Modi wave, is promising to create a separate Bundelkhand state within three years of being voted to power.

In Barabanki, chairman of National Commission for Scheduled Castes PL Punia is banking on the development work done by him in the area.

Union minister of state for human resource, Jitin Prasada, is fighting against from former MP Dawood Ahmad of BSP in Dhaurahra seat.

This phase is important for the Congress as out of 22 seats won by the party in the 2009 Lok Sabha polls, six were from this phase. The SP has four, the BSP has three and the BJP has only one seat.

Chief electoral officer Umesh Sinha said a total of 233 candidates are in fray in the fourth phase. Out of the 2.4 crore registered voters, 1.3 crore are men and 1.09 crore women.

Seats for which polling would be held include Dhaurahra, Sitapur, Mishrikh, Unnao, Mohanlalganj, Lucknow, Rae Bareli, Kanpur, Jalaun, Jhansi, Hamirpur, Banda, Fatehpur and Barabanki.

Here's a map for the constituencies going to polls on Wednesday. On searching, you will get details of all parties fighting from a constituency and key candidates there:


also read

Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi left in the cold for now

blog comments powered by Disqus