The BJP ticket shower: Jaitley goes to Amritsar, Rajnath to Lucknow

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • |
  • Updated: Mar 16, 2014 01:04 IST

Amid much fanfare and celebration, the BJP on Saturday announced that PM candidate Narendra Modi would be contesting the elections from Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh. Modi displaced Murli Manohar Joshi, who has been given the consolatory seat of Kanpur.

While party president Rajnath Singh occupies UP's VIP seat Lucknow, Arun Jaitley will be fighting the polls from Amritsar.

Film stars are just as big on the BJP ticket scene as ticket windows at the theatre. Kirron Kher, whose hometown is Chandigarh, will fight from the top constituency. She will go up against celebrity Gul Panag of AAP.

Shatrughan Sinha will also be contesting the Lok Sabha polls from Patna Sahib, Bihar.

Earlier, Sushma Swaraj was declared the candidate from Vidisha, Madhya Pradesh.


also read

Modi's Varanasi foray underscores BJP's UP focus

blog comments powered by Disqus