Uttarakhand sees 63% polling, betters 2009 turnout by 10%

  • Prithviraj Singh, Hindustan Times, Dehradun
  • |
  • Updated: May 07, 2014 21:47 IST
  • Key candidates

    A combination picture of the key candidates in the fray for the phase 8 of the LS polls. (Agency Photo)

  • Babul Supriyo

    BJP PM nominee Narendra Modi with party's Asansol candidate and Bollywood singer Babul Supriyo in West Bengal. (AFP Photo)

  • Moon Moon Sen

    TMC candidate Moon Moon Sen with party leaders during an election meeting in Purulia. (PTI Photo)

  • Ramesh Pokhriyal

    Narendra Modi with party candidate Ramesh Pokhriyal 'Nishank' during a poll campaign rally in Roorkee. (PTI Photo)

  • BC Khanduri

    BJP leader BC Khanduri addresses an election rally in Pauri, Uttarakhand. (PTI Photo)

  • Saket Bahuguna

    Congress candidate Saket Bahuguna during an election campaign in Dehradun. (PTI Photo)

  • Beni Prasad Verma

    Congress candidates Nagma and Beni Prasad Verma during an election campaign in Pilibhit. (PTI Photo)

  • Keshri Devi Patel

    BSP's Keshri Devi Patel files her nomination papers for Lok Sabha polls in Allahabad. (PTI Photo)

  • Mohammad Kaif

    Congress candidate from Phulpur Mohammad Kaif meets local cricketers during his poll campaign in Allahabad. (PTI Photo)

  • Varun Gandhi

    BJP candidate Varun Gandhi on his way to file his nomination papers in Sultanpur. (PTI Photo)

Uttarakhand recorded 63% voter turnout in its five Lok Sabha constituencies on Wednesday as polling took place peacefully.

In the 2009 polls, the voter turnout was 53% while it was 49% in 2004.

No major incident of violence was reported, but polling was hampered in the morning at some places due to technical snags in the electronic voting machines (EVMs). Around 60 faulty EVMs were replaced.

In Dehradun, altercations among workers of different parties were reported at polling booths in MKP Inter College and CNI Boys Inter College in Paltan Bazar.

A few villages in Tehri, Nainital and Chakrata boycotted the polls.

The EC teams confiscated publicity material from kiosks of political parties outside booths at Garhi Cantt, Hathi Barkala and Salawala. Some BJP activists also had a row with Dehradun City SP Navneet Bhullar at the ITI Majra polling booth.

Uttarakhand director general of police BS Sidhu said polling was largely peaceful across the state and security forces were keeping vigil. He said 56 companies of the Central Armed Police Forces had been deployed for security across Uttarakhand. Around 70,000 government employees had also been deployed on election-related duties in the state.

Uttarakhand joint chief electoral officer Saujanya said, "There were a few minor altercations at some places, but they were insignificant."

Till 5pm, Haridwar Lok Sabha constituency had recorded the highest turnout at 69% while Nainital saw 66%. The final figures for each constituency were not available at the time of filing this report.

Meanwhile, a polling officer died on duty at Nargoda polling booth in Almora Lok Sabha constituency after complaints of acute vomiting and diarrhoea on Wednesday morning. The deceased poll officer, Arvind Singh, was a teacher at the government inter college in Uttarkashi.

Full coverage: My India My Vote


also read

Advani, Murli Manohar Joshi left in the cold for now

blog comments powered by Disqus