Nobel Medicine Prize: Previous US laureates | tech reviews | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Nobel Medicine Prize: Previous US laureates

tech reviews Updated: Oct 05, 2009 19:21 IST

Here is a list of US winners of the Nobel Medicine Prize, awarded Monday to three US scientists, Carol Greider, Jack Szostak and Elizabeth Blackburn, who is also an Australian citizen:

2009: Carol Greider and Jack Szostak (US), Elizabeth Blackburn (Australia-US)

2007: Mario Capecchi and Oliver Smithies (with Martin Evans of Britain)

2006: Andrew Z. Fire, Craig C. Mello

2004: Richard Axel, Linda B. Buck

2003: Paul C. Lauterbur (with Peter Mansfield of Britain)

2002: H. Robert Horvitz (with Sydney Brenner and John E. Sulston of Britain)

2001: Leland Hartwell (with Timothy Hunt and Paul Nurse of Britain)

2000: Paul Greengard and Eric Kandel (with Arvid Carlsson of Sweden)

1999: Guenter Blobel

1998: Robert Furchgott, Louis Ignarro, Ferid Murad

1997: Stanley Prusiner

1995: Edward Lewis and Eric Wieschaus (with Christiane Nuesslein-Volhard, Germany)

1994: Alfred Gilman and Martin Rodbell

1993: Phillip Sharp (with Richard Roberts, Britain)

1992: Edmond Fischer and Edwin Krebs

1990: Joseph Murray and Donnall Thomas

1989: Michael Bishop and Harold Varmus

1988: Gertrude Elion and George Hitchings (with James Black, Britain)

1986: Rita Levi-Montalcini and Stanley Cohen

1985: Michael Brown and Joseph Goldstein

1983: Barbara McClintock

1981: Roger Sperry and David Hubel (with Torsten Wiesel, Sweden)

1980: Baruj Benacerraf and George Snell (with Jean Dausset, France)

1979: Allan Cormack (with Godfrey Hounsfield, Britain)

1978: Daniel Nathans and Hamilton Smith (with Werner Arber, Switzerland)

1977: Roger Guillemin, Andrew Schally and Rosalyn Yalow

1976: Baruch Blumberg and Carleton Gajdusek

1975: David Baltimore, Renato Dulbecco and Howard Temin

1974: George Palade (with Albert Claude and Christian de Duve, Belgium)

1972: Gerald Edelman (with Rodney Porter, Britain)

1971: Earl Sutherland Jr

1970: Julius Axelrod (with Bernard Katz, Britain and Ulf von Euler, Sweden)

1969: Max Delbruck, Alfred Hershey and Salvador Luria

1968: Robert Holley, Har Khorana and Marshall Nirenberg

1967: Haldan Hartline and George Wald (with Ragnar Granit, Sweden)

1966: Peyton Rous and Charles Huggins

1964: Konrad Bloch (with Feodor Lynen, Germany)

1962: James Watson (with Francis Crick and Maurice Wilkins, Britain)

1961: Georg von Bekesy

1959: Severo Ochoa and Arthur Kornberg

1958: George Beadle, Edward Tatum and Joshua Lederberg

1956: Andre Cournand and Dickinson Richards (with Werner Forssmann, Germany)

1954: John Enders, Thomas Weller and Frederick Robbins

1953: Fritz Lipman (with Hans Krebs, Britain)

1952: Selman Waksman

1950: Edward Kendall and Philip Hench (with Tadeus Reichstein, Switzerland)

1947: Carl Cori and Gerti Cori (with Bernardo Houssay, Argentina)

1946: Hermann Muller

1944: Joseph Erlanger and Herbert Gasser

1943: Edward Doisy (with Henrik Dam, Denmark)

1934: George Whipple, George Minot and William Murphy

1933: Thomas Morgan