Advertisement

HindustanTimes Thu,02 Oct 2014

Game Reviews

Advertisement
Canandian games in the limelight for midweek Steam offer
AFP
October 25, 2012
First Published: 16:00 IST(25/10/2012)
Last Updated: 16:05 IST(25/10/2012)
Looking for a way off the planet in 'Capsized'. Photo: AFP

Heads up for those on the lookout for a decently priced collection of well-praised PC games -- or fiercely patriotic Canucks eager to support their talented video game-creating countrymen -- as Steam's midweek bundle packs 9 well-praised Mac and PC titles at a bargain price, until 4pm Pacific on Thursday 25 (7pm Eastern, midnight UK, 1am Central Europe, 10am Sydney, Australia).

Among them, Sword & Sworcery is the nonet's best-known, having scooped a multitude of awards after debuting on iOS early on in its lifetime; fellow 2011 releases Dungeons of Dredmor and Space Pirates and Zombies generated considerable online buzz, and Capsized remains a standout choice.

Steam's indie bundles have typically come out to play during the seasonal summer and winter sales, but plenty of other web-based groups have been inspired to create low-price or pay-what-you-want packages on a more regular basis, such as HumbleBundle.com, IndieRoyale.com, IndieGala.com, TheGreenlightBundle.com, and IndieBundle.org.

Canadian Indie Bundle
Capsized - escape an alien planet in this lush-looking 2D platformer
Dungeons of Dredmor - old-school, edge-of-the-seat adventuring through a randomly generated lair
Hoard - swap roles and become a fearsome dragon attempting to keep a kingdom at bay
Shank & Shank 2 - close-quarters combat meets swift and sprightly action
Space Pirates and Zombies - genre-splicing space exploration and combat
Superbrothers: Sword & Sworcery EP - multi-award-winning title presented as both Greek myth and soundtrack experience
Waveform - send a particle of light on an entertainingly brain-boggling journey across the solar system
Warp - take a mildly psychotic imprisoned alien on a stealthy jaunt away from his science lab captors


comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.hindustantimes.com
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved