Advertisement

HindustanTimes Thu,18 Sep 2014

Game Reviews

Advertisement
Microsoft announces E3 briefing for June 9
AFP
May 08, 2014
First Published: 10:30 IST(8/5/2014)
Last Updated: 10:51 IST(8/5/2014)

This year's media briefing from Microsoft will take place on the morning of June 9 under the title "Xbox: Game On."

The company's press note promises "everything from in-depth looks at previously announced games to trailers for our unannounced games coming in 2014 and beyond," while it will be the first time that E3 regular division chief Phil Spencer will be acting in his current role following the departure of Don Mattrick to Zynga.

Microsoft has a long history of co-operation with "Call of Duty" publisher Activision, with exclusive gameplay premieres often taking place during the E3 briefing, and "Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare" was announced for early November on May 2.

With Activision's other big end-of-year release, "Destiny," demonstrating a willingness to partner with Sony PlayStation for a number of content reveals, the importance of "Call of Duty" to Microsoft is further heightened.

Similarly, the company's big console-spanning franchise, "Halo," is due another entry this year, first revealed at the tail end of last June's presentation, though radio silence has been maintained since then.

Microsoft is pushing out its presentation as well as pre-show coverage via Xbox.com, Xbox Live on consoles, and Windows Phone, with TV network Spike joining the fray for the main event.

Xbox: Game On starts at 9:30 local time on June 9 in Los Angeles, which equates to 12:30 in New York, 13:30 in São Paulo, 17:30 BST, 18:30 in central Europe and 22:00 in Mumbai, India, then 12:30am the next day in Beijing, Singapore and Malaysia and 2:30am in Sydney, Australia.


comment Note: By posting your comments here you agree to the terms and conditions of www.hindustantimes.com
blog comments powered by Disqus
Advertisement
Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved