Indus Waters Treaty

  • Updated: Jul 19, 2016 18:39 IST

Indus Waters Treaty is a water-distribution treaty between India and Pakistan, brokered by the World Bank (then the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development). The treaty was signed in Karachi on September 19, 1960 by Indian Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru and President of Pakistan Ayub Khan. The Indus System of Rivers comprises three western rivers the Indus, the Jhelum and Chenab and three eastern rivers - the Sutlej, the Beas and the Ravi.

also read

Bob Dylan gets 2016 Nobel Prize for Literature
Show comments