Pranab Mukherjee

  • Updated: May 24, 2016 16:57 IST

Pranab Mukherjee is the 13th President of India who assumed the office on July 25, 2012. Born on December 11, 1935, in West Bengal’s Mirati under the Birbhum district, Mukherjee was a senior leader of the Congress and occupied several ministerial portfolios at the Centre. After rejecting Yakub Memon’s mercy petition on April 11, 2014, President Mukherjee has rejected eight other mercy pleas filed under Article 72 of the Constitution. Before becoming the President, he was Union finance minister from 2009 to 2012.

also read

Bob Dylan gets 2016 Nobel Prize for Literature
Show comments