HindustanTimes Fri,19 Dec 2014


Arctic council open to China, India and Korea
Kiruna, May 16, 2013
First Published: 00:07 IST(16/5/2013)
Last Updated: 00:08 IST(16/5/2013)
Arctic states have agreed to let nations located nowhere near the Earth’s north to become observers to their diplomatic council, thus boosting rising superpowers China, India and South Korea that seek to mine the region of its untapped energy and other natural resources. Membership to the Arctic Council has become increasingly lucrative as the thawing region’s waterways open to commercial shipping traffic.

Copyright © 2014 HT Media Limited. All Rights Reserved