Brexit campaigner wins UK Asian award | world-news | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Brexit campaigner wins UK Asian award

world Updated: Mar 03, 2017 18:44 IST
Prasun Sonwalkar

Gina Miller (left) receives the ‘campaigner of the year’ award at the Asian Voice Political and Public Life Awards ceremony in the House of Commons on Thursday. Also seen are deputy speaker of the House of Commons Eleanor Laing (centre) and CB Patel (right).(HT Photo)

Gina Miller, the Indian-origin activist whose legal action seeking parliamentary approval for triggering Brexit was upheld by Britain’s high court and supreme court, was presented the ‘campaigner of the year’ award by a leading Asian media group on Thursday.

The 11th version of the Asian Voice Political and Public Life Awards, instituted by the Asian Voice newspaper, saw individuals with a special impact in the preceding 12 months being felicitated. Nineteen awardees were present for the ceremony at the Palace of Westminster, including actor Dev Patel, Liberal Democrats leader Tim Farron, philanthropists Bhiku and Vijay Patel, and former Leicester City manager Claudio Ranieri.

Miller, whose Brexit-related campaign drew much appreciation and abuse, said: “Every one of us has a responsibility and a mind to speak our minds... Do not ever underestimate the strength of your voice, conscience and actions”.

“One person can take on those who talk about things that are morally and intellectually indefensible and if we all come together in a stream of consciousness, we will preserve what makes our society so great.”

CB Patel, editor of Asian Voice, said: “Like every year, we have recognised some incredible people who have made enormous contributions to politics and public life. I am so thrilled that we can celebrate the achievements of those who have made a positive difference to Britain, regardless of their political party, race, colour or religion”.

Awardees included Mark Rowley (assistant police commissioner), Dipti Mistry (Bharat Welfare Trust), Jimmy Desai (pharmacist), and Craig Oliver (author). The lifetime achievement award was presented to senior journalist HS Rao.