Closing times of polls on Super Tuesday | world | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Aug 23, 2017-Wednesday
-°C
New Delhi
  • Humidity
    -
  • Wind
    -

Closing times of polls on Super Tuesday

Here is a list of states that hold nominating contests for one or both parties on Tuesday and closing times of polls. No results in a state will be announced until polls close there.

world Updated: Feb 05, 2008 20:23 IST
Deborah Charles

Here is a list of states that hold nominating contests for one or both parties on Tuesday and closing times of polls. No results in a state will be announced until polls close there.

7 pm EST/midnight GMT

Georgia, Democratic and Republican

8 pm EST/0100 GMT

Alabama, Democratic and Republican

Connecticut, Democratic and Republican

Delaware, Democratic and Republican

Illinois, Democratic and Republican

Massachusetts, Democratic and Republican

Missouri, Democratic and Republican

New Jersey, Democratic and Republican

Oklahoma, Democratic and Republican

Tennessee, Democratic and Republican

8:30 pm EST/0130 GMT

Arkansas, Democratic and Republican

9:00 pm EST/0200 GMT

Arizona, Democratic and Republican

New Mexico, Democratic only

New York, Democratic and Republican

10 pm EST/0300 GMT

Utah, Democratic and Republican

11 pm EST/0400 GMT

California, Democratic and Republican

Here is a list of states holding caucuses or state convention on Tuesday, and the starting time in each state. A caucus involves party faithful gathering at sites around the state to negotiate and divide up the allotted number of convention delegates. The process could involve more than one round of voting so the end-time is unpredictable.

11 am EST/1600 GMT

West Virginia. Republican party state convention

2 pm EST/ EST/0500 GMT

Montana, Republican only. Start times vary, beginning at 2 p.m. EST/1900 GMT. Results must be in to the party by midnight

3 pm EST/2000 GMT

North Dakota Democratic party. Caucus locations open until 9 p.m./0200 GMT

7:30 pm EST/0030 GMT

North Dakota Republican party. Caucus locations open until 9 p.m./0200 GMT

8 pm EST/0100 GMT

Kansas, Democratic only

Minnesota, Democratic and Republican (caucuses)

8:30 pm EST/0130 GMT

Alaska Republican party.

9 pm EST/0200 GMT

Colorado, Democratic and Republican (caucuses)

Idaho, Democratic only (caucus)

10 pm EST/0300 GMT

Alaska Democratic party