India committed to UNFCCC: Singh | world | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

India committed to UNFCCC: Singh

world Updated: Apr 16, 2010 18:32 IST

Keeping up pressure on rich nations to take legally binding emission cuts, India on Friday made clear that it was committed to the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), which is based on the principle of common but differentiated responsibilities.

Addressing the Brazil-Russia-India-China (BRIC) Summit in Brasilia, Prime Minister Manmohan Singh said the BRIC Approach to the approaching December conference in Cancun, Mexico, should be anchored in the framework of UNFCCC, the Kyoto Protocol and the Bali Roadmap.

"Technology will be a key element in our strategy to meet the challenge of climate change. Each of us has our own strengths in climate-friendly technologies," said Singh.

"If we pool our best scientific and technological resources, BRIC nations can set a fine example in promoting collaborative development, deployment and dissemination of clean energy and renewable technologies," he said in his first speech on climate change at an international forum, after the Copenhagen Summit last year.

Singh's comments come right after developed countries' threat to cut vital aid to developing nations if they do not back the deal agreed to at the UN climate summit in Copenhagen.

This reflects the rich nations' reluctance to keep their promises of providing financial, technological and capacity-building support to developing countries to help them counter climate change.

India, along with other developing nations, has argued that developed countries should create a global mechanism through which existing technologies, which can make a significant change in meeting climate challenges, be diffused as rapidly and widely as possible.

At the 194-nation summit in Copenhagen, India along with Brazil, South Africa and China, brokered a non-binding agreement with the US which is now "endorsed" by more than 112 countries.

These include 14 African countries that depend on aid from the EU, UK and France.