Mary Kom, Suresh Gopi, Navjot Sidhu among 6 nominated to Rajya Sabha

  • PTI, New Delhi
  • Updated: Apr 22, 2016 22:51 IST
Boxer MC Mary Kom. (PTI)

BJP leaders Subramanian Swamy and Navjot Singh Sidhu as well as Narendra Jadhav, member of erstwhile National Advisory Council (NAC) headed by Congress President Sonia Gandhi, were on Friday nominated by the Modi government to Rajya Sabha.

Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi, journalist Swapan Dasgupta and boxer Mary Kom were also nominated to the Upper House of Parliament.

President Pranab Mukherjee nominated the six personalities from different fields to the House of Elders following a recommendation of the Narendra Modi government, a Home Ministry spokesperson said.

He said a formal notification regarding their nomination to the Upper House would be issued shortly.

The President recommends the names of the nominated members drawn from fields such as literature, science, sports, art and social service – on the advice of the government.

also read

Bring youngsters who have left home back to mainstream: Mehbooba
Show comments