New non-permanent members for UNSC | world | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

New non-permanent members for UNSC

world Updated: Oct 16, 2009 11:48 IST

In a near unanimous election, five countries have joined the UN Security Council to work as new non-permanent members for two years.

Brazil, Nigeria, Gabon, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Lebanon will join the UN Security Council as non-permanent members to begin their work on Jan 1, 2010.

"It's going to be an even stronger Security Council next year. We have two large countries in Brazil and Nigeria who carry the weight of being a regional power," UK envoy to the UN, John Sawers told journalists after the results were announced.

"We have two countries in Lebanon and Bosnia who have been through conflict and can bring their own national experiences to the Security Council," he added.

The Council has 15 seats- 5 permanent and 10 non-permanent.

The latter are filled by regional group for a term of two years. The General Assembly elects five of these members each year. To be elected, a country must receive two-thirds majority in the 192-member General Assembly where members vote by secret ballot.

GA President Ali Treki read out the number of votes won--186 for Nigeria, 184 for Gabon, 183 for Bosnia, 182 for Brazil and 180 for Lebanon. Both Lebanon, and Bosnia and Herzegovina have had suffered widespread ethnic and political conflict back home and tensions and divisions are still simmering.