Storm cuts power to 400,000 households in France | world | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
May 30, 2017-Tuesday
-°C
New Delhi
  • Humidity
    -
  • Wind
    -

Storm cuts power to 400,000 households in France

Some 400,000 homes were without power after a violent storm with winds reaching nearly 90 miles per hour knocked out electricity across a wide swath of western and central France, the country's electricity distribution authority said.

world Updated: Feb 10, 2009 19:09 IST

Some 400,000 homes were still without power on Tuesday after a violent storm with winds reaching nearly 90 miles per hour (140 kilometers per hour) knocked out electricity across a wide swath of western and central France, the country's electricity distribution authority said.

The storm also disrupted travel for thousands of passengers scheduled to fly through Paris' airports, which closed for 14 hours overnight in response to the gusting winds.

Paris' Charles de Gaulle, Orly and Le Bourget airports reopened after 10 a.m. (0900 GMT, 4 a.m. EST), and traffic was progressively returning to normal, the region's airport authority said in a statement. Still, it warned that delays on incoming and outgoing flights from the three airports were to be expected. Bernard Lassus, director of France's electricity distribution network, said about 600,000 households had been affected by the power outages, but that electricity had been restored to roughly half of affected households in the hardest-hit western regions by 7 a.m. (0600 GMT, 1 a.m. EST).

But as the storm swept inland from the Atlantic on Tuesday, it caused further power cuts to other regions in the center of the country, Lassus told France-Info radio. At midday (1100 GMT, 6 a.m. EST), some 400,000 households were still without power, the electricity distribution authority said in a statement. Air France on Tuesday said it had put up around 3,000 passengers affected by the Paris airport closures in local hotels overnight on Monday.

In a statement, the airline said it had canceled 250 flights on Monday, as well as 15 percent of Tuesday's scheduled short- and medium-haul flights. All long-haul flights from the Paris airports were maintained on Tuesday, though long delays were likely, the statement said.

The airports closed at 8 p.m. (1900 GMT, 2 p.m. EST) on Monday and remained closed until Tuesday at 10 a.m. (0900 GMT, 4 a.m. EST). The civilian airport authority said the closures, a rare occurrence, came in response to the storm's winds, which posed a safety threat to air traffic.

Heavy rain and gale-force winds in parts of southern England also caused flight disruptions there, as well as road closures and train cancellations. Some areas recorded close to their monthly average rainfall for February in just 24 hours.

Heavy snow hit regions further north in England and Wales, leading to road and school closures and power outages.