Why call it crucial? | world | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 16, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Why call it crucial?

world Updated: Dec 14, 2009 18:28 IST

Highlight Story

The Copenhagen Climate Council is a global collaboration between international business and science. It is founded by the leading independent think tank in Scandinavia, Monday Morning, which is based in Copenhagen.

The purpose of this summit is to bring together the councilors of the Copenhagen Climate Council to create global awareness of the importance of the UN Climate Summit (COP15) in Copenhagen, December 2009. The summit will also ensure technical and public support and aid to global decision makers to agree on a new climate treaty to replace the Kyoto Protocol from 1997.

The strategy is built upon the following principles:

To create global awareness of the importance of the Copenhagen UN Climate Summit and the successor treaty to the Kyoto Protocol.

Promoting constructive dialogue between government, business, and science.

Inspiring global business leaders by demonstrating that tackling climate change also has the potential to create huge opportunities for innovation and economic growth.


Copenhagen Climate Council comprises 30 global climate leaders representing business, science, and public policy from all parts of the world.

The Councilors

The Councilors to the Copenhagen Climate Council are:

Tim Flannery, Chairman of Copenhagen Climate Council, Writer and Scientist
Erik Rasmussen, Founder, Copenhagen Climate Council; CEO and Editor-in-Chief, Monday Morning
Steven Chu, U.S. Energy Secretary[2]
Shai Agassi, CEO and Founder, Project Better Place
Carsten Bjerg, CEO, Grundfos
David Blood, Senior Partner, Generation Investment Management
Sir Richard Branson, Founder and CEO, Virgin Group
James Cameron, Vice Chairman, Climate Change Capital
Subhash Chandra, Chairman of Zee Entertainment Enterprises Limited
Jørgen Mads Clausen, CEO, Danfoss
Samuel A. DiPiazza, Jr. , CEO of PricewaterhouseCoopers International Limited
Anders Eldrup, President of DONG Energy Denmark
Ditlev Engel, CEO, Vestas Wind Systems A/S
Yoichi Funabashi, Editor-in-Chief, The Asahi Shimbun
Lord Michael Jay, Baron Jay of Ewelme - Globe International Advisorry Board Member and Lord Jay of Ewelme
Daniel M. Kammen, Professor and co-Director, Berkeley Institute of the Environment
Sir David King, Scientist and Director of the Smith School of Enterprise and the Environment at the University of Oxford
Lise Kingo, Executive Vice President and Chieff of Staffs, Novo Nordisk
Thomas E. Lovejoy, President, H. John Heinz III Center for Science, Economics and Environment
James Lovelock, Scientist, inventor and author
Rob Morrison, Chairman, CLSA Asia-Pacific Markets
Paul S. Otellini, President and Chief Executive Officer, Intel
Robert Purves, AM Chair of Environment Business Australia and board member WWW International
James E. Rogers, Chairman of the Board, President and CEO, Duke Energy
Dr. Zhengrong Shi, Chairman of the Board and CEO, Suntech Power
Björn Stigson, President, World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Sir Crispin Tickell, Director of the Policy Foresight Programme, James Martin Institute for Science and Civilization, Oxford University
Moses Tsang, CEO, Ajia Partners
Jens Ulltveit-Moe, CEO, Umoe AS
Li Xiaolin, Vice Chairman and CEO, China Electric Power International Co. Ltd.