Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 15, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

MP government issues eligibility list of red yellow beacons

Madhya Pradesh government has amended its order dated July 10 and issued new orders regarding use of red and yellow beacons on vehicles.

bhopal Updated: Aug 06, 2013 11:18 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

The State government has amended its order dated July 10 and issued new orders regarding use of red and yellow beacons on vehicles.

Exercising powers vested to it by Rule 108 of Central Motor Vehicle Rules, 1989, state government has amended the list of users of red and yellow beacons on government vehicles.

The following will be entitled to red beacon when their vehicle is on duty anywhere in the state, governor, chief minister, High Court chief justice, advocate general, additional advocate general, Vidhan Sabha speaker, Vidhan Sabha deputy speaker, ministers, ministers of state, judges of High Court, Leader of Opposition, Lokayukta, deputy Lokayukta, chairman State Human Rights Commission, chief secretary and DGP.

Those eligible to affix yellow beacons on top front potion of their vehicle include VIPs having minister/minister of state status, officers of the rank of the chief secretary, officers of the rank of DGP, principal secretaries of Madhya Pradesh Government, chairpersons of Municipal Corporations, chairpersons of Nagar Palikas, presidents of Zila Panchayats (in areas under their jurisdiction), divisional commissioners in their divisions, range IGs in their range, collectors/ additional collectors in their districts, district & sessions judges, additional district judges, chief judicial magistrates and all judicial officers in their respective jurisdictions, SPs, Additional SPs in their districts, SDMs (Revenue), SDOPs and CSPs in their respective sub-divisions.

As per amended orders, red, yellow and blue beacons will not be used if vehicle is not carrying distinguished person and will be covered with black cover. Blue beacons with or without flasher will be used on escort vehicles of VVIPs, who are eligible to use red beacons.

Purple blinker type beacon will be used on ambulances.

Officers entitled for yellow beacons will have to display certificate granted by competent authority (Regional Transport Officer/ Additional Regional Transport Officer) on windscreen of their vehicles.

First Published: Aug 06, 2013 11:16 IST