New Delhi -°C
Today in New Delhi, India

Sep 24, 2019-Tuesday



Select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Sep 24, 2019

DSC Prize shortlist for 2017 out. Aravind Adiga, Anjali Joseph among 5 contenders

The shortlist for DSC Prize for South Asian Literature features a mix of established writers and young novelists. Read on to know which writers made the cut.

books Updated: Sep 28, 2017 10:13 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times

The DSC Prize for South Asian Literature, which carries an award of $25,000 (over Rs 16 lakh), announced its shortlist of 5 novels on September 27. The prestigious international literary award is open to authors of any ethnicity or nationality as long as the writing is about South Asia and its people.

The five shortlisted entries for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature 2017 are:

● Anjali Joseph: The Living (Fourth Estate, HarperCollins, UK)

● Anuk Arudpragasam: The Story of a Brief Marriage (Granta Books, UK)

● Aravind Adiga: Selection Day (Fourth Estate, HarperCollins, India)

● Karan Mahajan: The Association of Small Bombs (Chatto & Windus, UK & Viking, USA & Fourth Estate, HarperCollins, India)

● Stephen Alter: In the Jungles of the Night (Aleph Book Company, India)


The jury had earlier announced a longlist of 13 novels at the Oxford Bookstore in New Delhi in August 2017. The Prize encourages writing in regional languages and translations and the prize money is equally shared between the author and the translator in case a translated entry wins.

The shortlist was announced at the London School of Economics & Political Science by Ritu Menon (Jury chair and feminist writer), along with the other four jury members — Senath Walter Perera (author and Senior Professor in English, University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka), Steven Bernstein (American director-screenwriter), Valentine Cunningham (professor emeritus at Oxford University) and Yasmin Alibhai-Brown (UK-based journalist).

The jury will deliberate on the shortlist over the next month and a half, and will announce the winner at an award ceremony at the Dhaka Literary Festival in Bangladesh on November 18, 2017. Past winners of the DSC Prize have been HM Naqvi of Pakistan, Shehan Karunatilaka of Sri Lanka, Jeet Thayil and Cyrus Mistry from India, Jhumpa Lahiri, and Anuradha Roy from India who won the Prize last year.

Follow @htlifeandstyle for more

First Published: Sep 28, 2017 10:13 IST