Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Why was JRR Tolkien denied Nobel Prize

Author JRR Tolkien, whose Lord of the Rings trilogy was published in 1954 and 1955, was passed over for the 1961 Nobel literature prize after his books were described as second rate.

books Updated: Jan 07, 2012 17:00 IST

First Published: Jan 07, 2012 16:53 IST