Former Radaur legislator Shyam Singh Rana
Former Radaur legislator Shyam Singh Rana

Former Radaur MLA Shyam Singh Rana quits BJP ‘to stand with farmers’

Announcing his resignation in the presence of his supporters and media at his residence in Yamunanagar, Rana said he left the party because of the miseries that the farmers are facing.
Hindustan Times, Ambala, Karnal | By HT Correspondents, Ambala/karnal
UPDATED ON SEP 30, 2020 08:59 PM IST

In a setback to the Bharatiya Janata Party in Haryana, its former MLA from Radaur assembly seat, Shyam Singh Rana left the party, alleging neglect of farmers in the state.

Announcing his resignation in the presence of his supporters and media at his residence, Rana said he left the party because he could no longer bear to see the miseries of farmers.

“Farmers have been protesting for a long time. Tonnes of paddy have reached the mandis but so far, no procurement has been done. Had the government paid attention to the farmers’ issues, the present situation (agitations) could have been averted,” he told Hindustan Times.

On being asked on his future plans, Rana said, “I’ve sent my resignation to state party president OP Dhankar. I’ll talk to my supporters and then decide the next course of action. But let me assure you, I will stand with the farmers in every possible way.”

Hours after the resignation letter was sent, Dhankar accepted the resignation but in a harshly worded reply, accused Rana of not supporting the BJP candidate in the previous election due to his vested interests. “The party treated you with respect by appointing you as the district chief, giving you an election ticket and elevating you to the post of chief parliamentary secretary. But you failed to support our candidate during the previous elections. It seems you personal interests are weighing you down and you are left with no option but to resign. Therefore, your resignation is accepted,” wrote Dhankar.

Randeep Ghanghas, co-incharge of the state media cell of BJP, confirmed that the resignation had been accepted by the state president.

Rana, who belongs to Pehowa of Kurukshetra district, had served as the MLA on the seat from 2014-19, but was denied ticket in the 2019 assembly elections. In his place, former minister Karan Dev Kamboj was fielded from the seat as the Kamboj community has a considerable vote-share in the Radaur segment. However, Kamboj lost to Congress’ Bishan Lal Saini by a thin margin and later accused Rana of campaigning against him.

Story Saved