Jan 21, 2020-Tuesday

select city

Metro cities - Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata

Other cities - Noida, Gurgaon, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Bhopal , Chandigarh , Dehradun, Indore, Jaipur, Lucknow, Patna, Ranchi

Tuesday, Jan 21, 2020
Vijay Swaroop

Vijay Swaroop


Vijay is chief of bureau, Patna. He has spent 21 years in journalism and covers political beats and public affairs.

articles by Vijay Swaroop (436 results)
Jul 20, 2019 09:09
Upon being asked to furnish details of RSS and affiliate organisations by Special Branch of Bihar Police, Begusarai MP Giriraj Singh said, “Deputy chief minister Sushil Kumar Modi is a product of RSS. He should be asked as to why such a situation ar... read more
Jul 17, 2019 20:25
The controversy erupted following the leak of a letter by the Superintendent of Police in the Special Branch to deputy SPs in every district seeking details of RSS and several Hindu organisations. read more
Jul 11, 2019 17:19
The Begusarai BJP MP said that there should be a rule of having only two children in the country for every religion and those who violated it, should be debarred from the right to vote. read more
Jul 04, 2019 09:37
Though Tejashwi Yadav returned to Patna on Monday after a month-long absence, he failed to appear in the assembly even on Wednesday. read more
Jun 09, 2019 13:39
In the Arunachal assembly polls, the JD(U) had won seven out of 60 seats and finished second in the tally after the BJP, which bagged 41 seats. read more
May 30, 2019 14:17
First and foremost, the state government will come out with a regulation to put a cap on the use of groundwater after a certain limit. read more
May 30, 2019 14:07
Janata Dal (United), with 16 seats, is the third largest partner in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA). It was not part of the previous government but is expected to be part of Modi-led NDA government at the Centre this time. read more
May 26, 2019 08:48
While the BJP and the LJP were able to achieve 100% strike rate by winning all seats, the JD (U) massively improved its 2014 performance by taking its tally from two to 16. read more
May 24, 2019 16:30
Politically, the victory has put a stamp of people’s mandate on the NDA alliance and dismissed the Opposition’s charge that the 2015 assembly polls mandate had been betrayed in the state. read more
May 22, 2019 15:24
Patna has two Lok Sabha seats, Patna Sahib, a predominantly urban area and Patliputra, comprising mainly of semi-urban and rural areas. While Patna Sahib recorded just 46.34 % turnout against 45.36% in 2014, Patliputra recorded 57.26% turnout. read more
May 20, 2019 23:46
Temperature in Bihar touched 44 degrees Celsius on Sunday even as many polling booths lacked proper shade creating inconvenience for voters. read more
May 19, 2019 02:12
All eight seats were won by the National Democratic Alliance in 2014. read more
May 18, 2019 16:18
In Bihar, the voters will decide the fates of 157 candidates, including ministers Ravi Shankar Prasad, Ram Kripal Yadav, Ashwani Choubey and RK Singh on May 19. read more
May 15, 2019 15:47
Last Phase: This is new Hindustan. We launched operations against terrorists, Maoists, opposition supporting them, says Prime Minister Narendra Modi. read more
May 11, 2019 14:19
A total of 127 candidates are in the fray in the fray with a maximum 22 candidates each from Vaishali and Purvi Champaran constituencies. read more