Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

IPL History

The popularity and the craze surrounding the IPL is such that an auction is held each year for teams to fine-tune their team combinations. Each year, the IPL goes a long way in determining the future course of action for players as well as their international teams. Over the last 15 years, Mumbai Indians have emerged to become the most successful franchise in IPL history winning the title a record five times, making Rohit Sharma the most elite captain in the league. Behind him is MS Dhoni, having led Chennai Super Kings to four IPL wins. Kolkata Knight Riders have won the trophy once, while Sunrisers Hyderabad, Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans have lifted the trophy once. Delhi Capitals, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Punjab Kings haven't tasted success even once. Heading into the IPL 2023, Mumbai Indians, the most successful franchise with a record 5 titles, will be hoping to clinch their sixth, whereas the Chennai Super Kings would be keen to equal MI's tally of five IPL wins. Besides these two IPL behemoths, Kolkata Knight Riders are two-time IPL winners, while Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad and Gujarat Titans have been winners once.

Will the wait end for Punjab Kings, RCB an Delhi Capitals?

Punjab Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore and the Delhi Capitals are the only franchises from the original 8 teams to have never won the IPL. All three of these teams have reached the final but failed to cross the line. Will this year end the wait for one of these super talented franchises?

Explore the captivating history of the IPL on Crickit, your ultimate cricketing destination! From inaugural triumphs to legendary showdowns, dive into the archives and discover the milestones that shaped the IPL. With Crickit, relive the iconic moments that define cricketing greatness and the IPL legacy.

...read more

2022 Winner: GTGujarat Titans

2022 Score


IPL 2022 Winner: Gujarat Titans

2020 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2019 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2019 Score


IPL 2019 Winner: Mumbai Indians

2017 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2017 Score


IPL 2017 Winner: Mumbai Indians

2015 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2015 Score


IPL 2015 Winner: Mumbai Indians

2013 Winner: MIMumbai Indians

2013 Score


IPL 2013 Winner: Mumbai Indians

2009 Winner: DCHDeccan Chargers

2009 Score


IPL 2009 Winner: Deccan Chargers

2008 Winner: RRRajasthan Royals


ipl news


‘Kohli caught my catch, Stokes came…’: Karthik reveals Pandya sledge in IPL

Published on May 30, 2024 02:30 PM IST
RCB's Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik after the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 T20 cricket match

Cricket-South Africa's power hitters need bowlers to back them up

Cricket-South Africa's power hitters need bowlers to back them up
Published on May 30, 2024 01:31 PM IST

'BCCI won't be able to stop Dhoni. He should never retire': Gavaskar's big tease

The MS Dhoni suspense remains
Published on May 30, 2024 12:46 PM IST

Gautam Gambhir gives blunt take on Mitchell Starc's 'ball of IPL 2024'

Starc fired an unplayable delivery in the final? Here's what Gambhir said
Published on May 30, 2024 12:49 PM IST

'Can I bring my girlfriend to the IPL?': Gambhir's first-ever chat with Narine

Kolkata Knight Riders' Sunil Narine with mentor Gautam Gambhir.
Published on May 30, 2024 10:39 AM IST

Dinesh Karthik blames 'mental side of things' after announcing retirement

Royal Challengers Bengaluru's Dinesh Karthik plays a shot.
Published on May 30, 2024 07:04 AM IST

'Country doesn't need to know my relationship with Virat Kohli': Gautam Gambhir

Royal Challengers Bengaluru cricketer Virat Kohli and KKR mentor Gautam Gambhir during a practice session
Published on May 30, 2024 09:35 AM IST

‘Batters going all-out in IPL was just a one-season thing’: RR's Riyan Parag

Rajasthan Royals' Riyan Parag plays a shot during the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 match
Updated on May 30, 2024 06:31 AM IST

IPL 2024 moved many needles, changed cricket’s grammar

Kolkata Knight Riders players celebrate after winning the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 final cricket match against Sunrisers Hyderabad
Published on May 29, 2024 09:54 PM IST

Jasprit Bumrah receives Brett Lee's stamp of approval before T20 World Cup

Bumrah bagged 20 wickets in the IPL 2024 before the T20 World Cup
Published on May 29, 2024 09:34 PM IST

[ IPL History FAQ ]

Chris Gayle is known as the most dangerous batsman in IPL history

MI, known as Mumbai Indians, have qualified for IPL playoffs 9 times in IPL history

Mumbai Indians, with five titles, are regarded as the best team in IPL history

Sam Curran is the most expensive player in IPL history. He was purchased for 18.5 crore by Punjab Kings

Chennai Super Kings have scored 200 a total of 24 times in IPL history

Albie Morkel holds the record for hitting the longest six in IPL history with a distance of 125 meters

Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni are the two best captains in IPL history

Virat Kohli, Dwayne Bravo, Suresh Raina and Lasith Malinga are considered the best players in IPL history

Albie Morkel holds the record for hitting the longest six in IPL history with a distance of 125 meters

RCB have scored the lowest total in IPL history of 49

Chennai Super Kings with 122 wins have won most matches in IPL history

Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now