Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

Orange Cap in IPL 2024

Virat Kohli with 741 runs tops the Orange Cap tally but his team Royal Challengers Bengaluru were knocked out by Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2024 Eliminator match on Wednesday. In his last outing in this edition of IPL, Kohli scored 33 runs before holing out to Yuzvendra Chahal in the deep. Rajasthan Royals' Riyan Parag scored a crucial 36 and with 567 runs has climbed up to the third spot. RR skipper Sanju Samson with 521 runs is in the sixth position.

SRH's Travis Head is placed in the third position with 533 runs and his opening partner Abhishek Sharma has dropped down to the 10th spot after getting out cheaply in Tuesday's Qualifier 1 match against KKR. Sunil Narine with 482 runs takes the ninth spot in the highest run-scorers table.

Chennai Super Kings may have crashed out of IPL 2024 but their skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad is at No.2 with 583 runs, while Gujarat Titans Sai Sudharsan is in the fifth position with 527 runs. LSG skipper KL Rahul with 520 runs is in the seventh position, followed by his team-mate Nicholas Pooran in the 8th spot in the Orange Cap tally.

Awarded to the player with the most runs in a single edition of the cash-rich competition, the Indian Premier League (IPL) acknowledges the tournament's leading run-getter as the winner of the Orange Cap every season. From Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar to India's next big thing Shubman Gill - only 13 players have managed to top the Orange Cap standings at season end. Former Punjab Kings (PBKS) star Shaun Marsh became the first player to win the Orange Cap in the inaugural season of the IPL back in 2008. Marsh outclassed Gautam Gambhir and Sanath Jayasuriya by scoring 616 runs for Punjab in the 2008 edition of the world's richest T20 league. Marsh's feat was achieved by legendary Australian batter Matthew Hayden, who scored 572 runs in 12 matches at the IPL 2009.

Surpassing Hayden and Marsh's run tallies to take home the Orange Cap honour, batting legend Tendulkar accumulated 618 runs in 15 games for Mumbai Indians (MI) at the IPL 2010. The 2011 edition of the IPL marked the arrival of the Universe Boss - Chris Gayle. The legendary West Indies batter dominated the Orange Cap standings by amassing 608 runs in 12 games for Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB). A season later, Gayle became the first batter in IPL's history to retain the Orange Cap honour. Gayle bettered his record by scoring 733 runs in 15 games at IPL 2012. The 2013 season saw the emergence of another CSK star on the Orange Cap table. CSK icon Michael Hussey defeated Gayle by scoring 733 runs in 17 games to finish the IPL 2013 season as the leading run-getter.

With Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) lifting the famous trophy in 2014, former Indian batter Robin Uthappa became the first batter to win the Orange Cap and IPL title in the same season. Uthappa scored 660 runs in 16 games at the time. A season before lifting the trophy with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), David Warner topped the Orange Cap standings with 562 runs in 14 games of the IPL 2015. Breaking a plethora of records in the 2016 season, Virat Kohli lived up to his run-machine tag by notching up a record 973 runs in 16 games. Kohli was followed by Warner, who scored 848 runs in 17 games. Warner returned to the top spot of the Orange Cap standings in IPL 2017. The former SRH skipper scored 641 runs in 14 games. Leading SRH to the final in 2018, Kane Williamson earned the Orange Cap for hammering 735 runs in 17 games. In his comeback season at IPL 2019, Warner claimed the Orange Cap for the record third time. The Delhi Capitals (DC) opener fired 692 runs with the willow in just 12 games.

Kickstarting a new era of Indian batters ruling the roost in the IPL, KL Rahul bagged the Orange Cap by scoring 670 runs in 14 games in the 2020 season. Matching Uthappa's feat in the 2021 season, CSK opener Ruturaj Gaikwad (635 runs) sealed the Orange Cap in Chennai's title-winning season at IPL 2021. Rajasthan Royals (RR) star Jos Buttler (863 runs) then ended the CSK skipper’s dominance in the IPL 2022 by winning the Orange Cap. Dethroning Buttler next season, Gujarat Titans (GT) skipper Shubman Gill almost shattered Kohli's record by smashing 890 runs in 17 games of the IPL 2023. Gill is the sixth Indian batter to win an Orange Cap at the IPL.

Discover the bowling maestro who secured the prestigious IPL Purple Cap in 2024! Dive into the details on our dedicated IPL page.

Explore the IPL Orange Cap page for up-to-date standings and statistics, and navigate seamlessly to the points table for a comprehensive view of the tournament's progress.

Discover who is leading the race for the coveted Orange Cap in IPL 2024, only on Crickit. Follow every boundary, six and century as batters vie for cricketing glory. Stay tuned to Crickit for real-time updates on the top run-scorers throughout the tournament.

Stay Tuned - IPL Final 2024 Live Score
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now