New Delhi300C
Monday, July 15, 2024

IND-W vs SA-W 2nd T20I Results

Abandoned
2nd T20I, Chennai, July 07, 2024, South Africa Women tour of India, 20241st Innings
South Africa WomenSA-WSouth Africa Women
177/6(20.0/20 ov)
Match Abandoned
Current RR: 8.85
Reviews Remaining:IND-W - 2 of 2, SA-W - 2 of 2
South Africa Women177/6 (20.0 overs)
  • 20th
    W01444
  • 19th
    441WD144W
  • 18th
    111211
  • 17th
    011114
  • 16th
    41410W
  • 15th
    101401
  • 14th
    111W01
  • 13th
    21B0041
  • 12th
    410101
  • 11th
    040110
  • 10th
    601012
  • 9th
    W11110
  • 8th
    101LB111
  • 7th
    111100
  • 6th
    144002
  • 5th
    W14304
  • 4th
    411110
  • 3rd
    444211
  • 2nd
    0401NB404
  • 1st
    201012

India Women vs South Africa Women Commentary

4:40 PM IST Right then, the 2nd T20I between India Women and South Africa Women at Chennai has been officially called off due to rain and it is not the result any player or fan ever wants to see especially when the game was so nicely set up after the first innings. However, this result ensures that South Africa Women cannot lose the T20I series as they have a 1-0 lead and there's just one more game to go. The Proteas got the job done in the first game and their series-losing streak on this tour has ended too. India Women would have wanted to get back on level terms before the final game but will now have to win the game to end the series on 1-1. The 3rd and final T20I will be played at the same venue in Chennai on Tuesday, 9 July and will begin at 7 pm IST (1.30 pm GMT). However, as usual, you can join us a lot earlier for the build-up of that clash. Till then, take care and goodbye!
4:35 PM IST UPDATE 10.06 pm IST (4.36 pm GMT) - IT IS OFFICIAL! RAIN HAS PLAYED SPOILSPORT AND THIS MATCH HAS BEEN ABANDONED!
4:27 PM IST UPDATE 9.57 pm IST (4.27 pm GMT) - We are getting closer and closer to that cut-off time of 10.13 pm IST (4.43 pm GMT) and it seems that the rain has again picked up and the crowd is starting to make its way out of the venue. No official word yet but we shouldn't be far away from some concrete news from the stadium. Stay tuned.
4:11 PM IST UPDATE 9.41 pm IST (4.11 pm GMT) - Uh, oh! The drizzle seems to have gotten a bit thicker and steadier again. Not what everyone was hoping for but the ground staff are still doing the rounds and working hard to keep the field of play ready at the earliest once the rain stops. Stick around as we should get some official news pretty soon.
4:02 PM IST UPDATE 9.33 pm IST (4.03 pm GMT) - We have already started losing overs for a few minutes now and the official cut-off time for a five-over chase is 10.13 pm IST (4.43 pm GMT). Also, there's some news from the ground that the drizzled has reduced quite a bit and the umpires are inpsecting the ground.. Let's keep our fingers crossed and hope that we do get a complete game in. Stay tuned for more updates.
3:49 PM IST UPDATE 9.19 pm (3.49 pm GMT) - No news regarding the start of the chase yet but it seems that the drizzle has actually picked up. The visuals do show that more of the ground is covered at the moment and not just the pitch. Unfortunately, it seems we are in for a longer delay than anticipated at first. And, as we wait for updates from the ground, let us take you back to the Indian Men's team that featured early on in their 2nd T20I against Zimbabwe. After being handed a humbling defeat, the fairly young and inexperienced Indian brigade bounced back quickly. Abhishek Sharma was the star of the show as he struck a brilliant ton and both the batting and bowling was sound. India scored 234 runs and bundled out the opposition for 134 runs, rounding up an impressive 100-run victory.
3:34 PM IST UPDATE 9.04 pm IST (3.34 pm GMT) - Well, well! The innings break is over and we expected to see the players coming out for the chase but instead, the pitch is under covers. It seems to be just a drizzle at the moment and the umpire is seen having a discussion with the ground staff. For now, the start of the chase is delayed but hopefully, it will be a prompt resumption just like we had before the first ball was bowled. Stick around for more updates.
3:33 PM IST …THE RUN CHASE…
3:29 PM IST Right then, India Women needs 178 to get a win and level the series. The pitch is a belter and with dew around, batting should not be a problem. South Africa Women will find it hard to grip the ball and India Women will want to cash in on that. So, Can India Women get the job done or will South Africa Women take the series and make it 2-0 with a game to go? We shall find out. Join us in a bit for the second essay.
3:28 PM IST Anneke Bosch is down for a chat. She says that the outing was good but it was a bit difficult for her as the pitch was slower than expected and then she tried to just build a partnership later on. Adds that they are happy with the score on the board but do need to bowl well. Mentions that with the start they had in the Powerplay, they were looking at a similar score to the one in the last game but had to re-assess as the pitch got slower later on.
3:27 PM IST India Women made four changes to their lineup and were slightly better with the ball today. They gave away few freebies at the start of the innings but came strongly by picking wickets at regular intervals. At one stage, South Africa Women looked like crossing the 200-run mark but some tight bowling did not allow that for them. Deepti Sharma was the pick of the bowlers with 2 for 20 in her spell while Shreyanka Patil and Radha Yadav picked one each. Pooja Vastrakar bowled with good pace and troubled the Proteas batting. She ended with 2 for 37 in her 4 overs.
Rate your Cricket Experience!
  • Excellent
  • Good
  • Ok
  • Not Good

IND-W vs SA-W Venue Details

MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai, India
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
PitchBatting friendly
Matches Won
Batting First1 Won (50%)
Bowling First1 Won (50.00%)
Temperature, 26.04C, Clouds
Humidity - 93%Wind Speed 4.12 meter/sec
  • 174Average 1st Innings
  • 174Average 2nd Innings
  • 75%PACEPercentage of wickets takes by pacers
  • 25%SPINPercentage of wickets takes by spinners
  • 182-4By India vs West Indies Highest Total
  • - Lowest Total
  • 92 Runs Shikhar DhawanHighest Individual Score
  • 3/31Irfan PathanBest Bowling Figures

Explore our Complete Cricket and T20 World Cup 2024 Coverage

Reviews Remaining:IND-W - 2 of 2, SA-W - 2 of 2

Score Statistics

  • Worm Graph
  • Manhattan
  • Run Rate

Match Details

Venue
MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai
Toss
India Women, elected to field
Series
South Africa Women in India, 3 T20I Series, 2024
Series Period
05 Jul 2024 - 09 Jul 2024
Match Day
07 Jul 2024 - D/N (20 - over match)
Umpires
Gayathri Venugopalan (IND), Virender Sharma (IND) and Jayaraman Madanagopal (IND)
Match Referee
GS Lakshmi (IND)