Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

T20 World Cup Most Wickets 2024


World Cup Most Wickets 2024: Afghanistan's Fazalhaq Farooqi is leading the top wicket-takers tally of the 2024 T20 World Cup with 12 wickets in three matches. In second position is South Africa's Anrich Nortje with eight scalps from three matches.

At third position is Alzarri Joseph of the West Indies with eight wickets followed by Australia's Adam Zampa also with eight wickets. Akeal Hosein of the West Indies with seven scalps is in the fifth position, followed by India's Hardik Pandya and Arshdeep Singh with seven wickets each.

The Bangladesh allrounder Shakib Al Hasan is the top wicket-taker in the T20 World Cup history. With an impressive tally of 47 wickets in 36 matches, Shakib boasts an average of 18.63 and an economy rate of 6.78. He too has recorded three four-wicket hauls in T20 World Cups, including his standout performance of 4 for 9 against Papua New Guinea in the 2021 edition.

Trailing closely behind Shakib is Pakistan's Shahid Afridi, occupying the second position with 39 wickets in 34 matches, at an economy of 6.71. Following Afridi is Sri Lanka's legendary fast bowler, Lasith Malinga, who has scalped 38 wickets in 31 matches at an economy rate of 7.43. Malinga's standout T20 World Cup moment was his remarkable spell of 5 for 31 against England in 2012.

Completing the top five list for most wickets in T20 World Cups are former Pakistan offspinner Saeed Ajmal, Sri Lanka's mystery spinner Ajantha Mendis are joint-fifth in the tally with 35 wickets each. India's Ravichandran Ashwin is sixth in the list with 32 wickets in 24 matches, and his best figure being 4 for 11.

Since the start of the ICC T20 World Cup and across editions there have been singular performances by bowlers in terms of taking most wickets in a single edition of the tournament. Let's take a look at the bowlers who dazzled in a format dominated by batsmen.

2007: Umar Gul

Umar Gul, the former Pakistan fast bowler, demonstrated exceptional skills during the ICC T20 World Cup 2007, claiming 13 wickets. Despite his impressive bowling, Pakistan lost the final match against India, where Gul stood out with figures of 3 for 28. Notably, he was one of the three bowlers who missed hitting the stumps during the bowl-out against India in the league stage.

2009: Umar Gul

For the second consecutive time, Umar Gul emerged as the highest wicket-taker in the ICC T20 World Cup 2009, securing 13 wickets. This time, however, his efforts bore fruit as Pakistan clinched the T20 title, defeating Sri Lanka in the final. Gul contributed with figures of 1 for 29 in the final match, aiding Pakistan's comfortable eight-wicket victory.

2010: Dirk Nannes

In the ICC T20 World Cup 2010, Dirk Nannes showcased the highlight of his career by finishing as the leading wicket-taker with 14 scalps. His standout performance included figures of 4 for 18 against Bangladesh, playing a pivotal role in Australia's journey to the final, where they faced defeat against England.

2012: Ajantha Mendis

Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis mesmerised opposition batsmen in the T20 World Cup 2012, by claiming 15 wickets. His standout performance of 6 for 8 against Zimbabwe set the tone for the tournament. Despite his remarkable bowling effort of 4/12 in the final against West Indies, Sri Lanka fell short of winning the coveted title.

2014: Imran Tahir & Ahsan Malik

Imran Tahir of South Africa and Ahsan Malik of Netherlands shared the spotlight as the joint leading wicket-takers in the ICC T20 World Cup 2014, both securing 12 wickets each. Tahir's notable performance included figures of 4 for 21 against Netherlands, while Malik's standout effort was 5 for 19 against South Africa.

2016: Mohammad Nabi

Afghanistan's Mohammad Nabi shone bright with the ball in the T20 World Cup 2016, topping the wicket-takers list with 12 scalps. Despite Afghanistan's early exit from the tournament, Nabi's bowling performances were a highlight, outshining even his countrymate Rashid Khan.

2021: Wanindu Hasaranga

Sri Lanka's Wanindu Hasaranga left an indelible mark in the 2021 edition of the T20 World Cup as the highest wicket-taker with an impressive haul of 16 wickets. His best figures in the edition were 3 for 9, although Sri Lanka failed to progress beyond the group stages.

2022: Wanindu Hasaranga

It was again the Sri Lankan legspinner Wanindu Hasaranga who was the top wicket-taker in the 2022 edition of the T20 World Cup played in Australia. The wily spinner picked 15 wickets at an economy of 6.41 and returned best figures of 3 for 8 in a match.

Explore the top performances by bowlers in the T20 World Cup 2024 on Crickit. Dive into the stats and standout bowling spells. Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crickit!

Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now