Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

T20 World Cup New Zealand Squad 2024


New Zealand Squad 2024: Kane Williamson will lead the 15-member New Zealand squad in the T20 World Cup 2024, with Devon Conway returning to the side for the ICC tournament to be played at the West Indies and the USA from June 1-29. Adam Milne has been ruled out, as the fast bowler requires surgery on his ankle.

Rachin Ravindra and Matt Henry are the only two players in the squad who have never played in a T20 World Cup before. The New Zealand squad for the T20 World Cup 2024, also features Tim Southee and Trent Boult. For Southee, it would be his seventh T20 World Cup. Ben Sears is the reserve player in the T20 World Cup New Zealand squad.

Conway had to miss IPL 2024 because he was yet to recover from a thumb injury that he sustained in February. However, he has travelled to India to train with his IPL franchise, Chennai Super Kings. He is New Zealand's first-choice wicketkeeper at the T20 World Cup. Meanwhile, Williamson missed New Zealand's two T20I series - the home series against Australia in February because of the birth of his third child and the Pakistan tour because of the IPL. Milne, requiring surgery to his injured ankle missed the Pakistan tour.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead addressed the challenges of finalising the T20 World Cup New Zealand squad 2024, mentioning how injuries to players like Adam Milne and Kyle Jamieson affected the selection process. However, there were positive developments as well. Finn Allen recovered from a back injury, making his way into the squad along with Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, James Neesham and Ish Sodhi, who all were in the Pakistan tour.

Stead emphasised the balance between experience and potential, acknowledging the performances of younger players during the Pakistan series. While some talented individuals missed out on the squad, Stead encouraged them to strive for selection in future tournaments.

"I think when you go to World Cups you want experience and you want people that know what it's like," Stead said. "That certainly doesn't exclude those that have really put their hand up. I think that's what's been really exciting about the tour to Pakistan. We've seen some performances from some younger players, that's really exciting for our future. And the message I had to them was, look, you haven't been selected in the side, but in two years there'll be another World Cup and that should be certainly a big enough carrot for you guys to put pressure on these guys that are here now."

Regarding veteran batters Colin Munro and Martin Guptill missing out, Stead revealed that their experience was considered but ultimately the selectors chose continuity, opting for a group that had been playing together consistently.

In addition to Stead, New Zealand's coaching team will include Luke Ronchi as the batting coach and Jacob Oram as the bowling coach. James Foster will join as the assistant coach, with a specific emphasis on fielding, according to the NZC.

The New Zealand team is scheduled to depart for the tournament on May 23. Their T20 World Cup 2024 campaign begins with a match against Afghanistan in Guyana on June 7.

New Zealand T20 World Cup 2024 squad: Kane Williamson (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ben Sears (reserve).

Explore the latest on T20 World Cup 2024 squad news, exclusively on our Crickit pages, offering in-depth analysis and player statistics. Catch every big hit, every wicket with Crickit!

Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now