West Indies ‘Mankad’ their way into U-19 World Cup quarters
A controversial run out in the last over earned West Indies a place in the quarterfinals of the Under-19 World Cup on Tuesday as fast bowler Keemo Paul removed the bails at the bowler’s end with the batsman a fraction out of his ground.cricket Updated: Feb 03, 2016 18:37 IST
A controversial run out in the last over earned West Indies a place in the quarterfinals of the Under-19 World Cup on Tuesday as fast bowler Keemo Paul removed the bails at the bowler’s end with the batsman a fraction out of his ground.
The practice, known as a ‘Mankad’, is rare and widely seen as unsporting. Traditionally, a bowler warns a batsman if he is leaving his crease too early, but Paul gave Zimbabwean batsman Richard Ngarava no warning, even though the batsman did not appear to be seeking an advantage.
Disgraceful behaviour in the U19CWC. WI's should be embarrassed!!— Eoin Morgan (@Eoin16) February 2, 2016
Zimbabwe needed only three runs in the 50th over for a place in the last eight but Paul broke the stumps without entering his delivery stride with last man Richard Ngarava standing a few steps outside his popping crease with his bat on the line.
On field umpires conferred before asking West Indies players whether they wanted to uphold the appeal against a decision which was within the rules of the game.
Once West Indies players confirmed they wanted to go ahead with the appeal, the television umpire was consulted and Ngarava’s bat was found to be just on the line.
Zimbabwe captain Brandon Mavuta was in tears and said, “we got so close, no comment about it. I don’t have anything to say right now.”
Zimbabwe coach Stephen Mangongo said he was happy with the way his side had fought in the match. “I am disappointed with the way the game ended. I have debriefed the boys in the dressing room and they were all crying,” he said.
I have seen guys nick balls behind and mark their crease I have seen guys pick up catches and claim them we can go on and on about this— Tino95 (@tinobest) February 2, 2016
“We have explained that technically the run-out is legal. We left it to the last man and we should not have done that. It was a hard lesson and they have learnt it the hard way.”
The Mankad is named after Indian bowler Vinoo Mankad, who created controversy when he dismissed Australian batsman Bill Brown in a similar manner at the Sydney Cricket Ground in 1947.
First Published: Feb 02, 2016 19:52 IST