Hindustantimes wants to start sending you push notifications. Click allow to subscribe

wpl 2023

A new era for women's cricket in India begins on March 4 with the Women's Premier see moreLeague (WPL) getting underway. The auction for the inaugural season, which was held on February 13, itself established it as the most valuable women's T20 league in the world even before a match was played. A total of 87 players were sold and 59,50,00,000 was splurged collectively amongst the five franchises. Smriti Mandhana, who was the first buy of the auction, was also the most expensive at 3.40 Crore which the Royal Challengers Bangalore spent. Five teams will be fighting it out for the title in the first season - Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Gujarat Giants, UP Warriorz and Royal Challengers Bangalore.

WPL News


Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 7 wickets, win inaugural WPL

Published on Mar 26, 2023 11:38 PM IST
Mumbai Indians captain Harmanpreet Kaur, centre without cap, celebrates with teammates their win in the Women's Premier League Twenty20 cricket final match against Delhi Captials in Mumbai.

Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians WPL 2023 Final: Action in Images

Hayley Matthews picked three wickets for MI to win the Purple Cap. Issy Wong also took three wickets and Amelia Kerr bagged two dismissals.
Published on Mar 26, 2023 11:24 PM IST

WPL 2023 Final, DC vs MI Highlights: Mumbai win by 7 wickets to clinch title

WPL 2023 DC vs MI Highlights: Mumbai Indians defeated Delhi Capitals in the final.
Updated on Mar 26, 2023 11:28 PM IST

Mumbai Indians' Issy Wong becomes first player to take hat-trick in WPL

Issy Wong is the first player to take a hat-trick in the WPL
Published on Mar 24, 2023 10:39 PM IST

WPL 2023: Delhi Capitals beat UP Warriorz, edge out MI and reach final

Delhi Capitals' celebrate after winning their Women's Premier League (WPL) cricket match against UP Warriorz
Published on Mar 21, 2023 11:41 PM IST


The WPL stands for the Women’s Premier League. It is the sister property of the famous Indian Premier League, where franchise teams will fight for glory for the ultimate prize.

A total of five teams are participating in the WPL 2023. These are Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, UP Warriorz, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals.

There are only two venues finalised for WPL 2023 – the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai and the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

The inaugural edition of WPL will be played from March 4 to March 26.

A total of 22 matches will be played between the five teams, out of which 20 are league games and the remaining two are the Eliminator and final.

The Women's Premier League can be watched on the Star Sports Network.

Beth Mooney is captaining the Gujarat Giants, Meg Lanning is leading the Delhi Capitals, Smriti Mandhana is the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore, Harmanpreet Kaur is Mumbai Indians captain, Alyssa Healy is the captain of UP Warriorz.

The WPL 2023 season began from March 4, 2023.

The WPL 2023 season will be live streamed on Disney Hotstar.

The WPL 2023 season will be broadcasted from March 4, 2023 to March 26, 2023.

The per match valuation of a WPL 2023 match is expected to be around 7.09 crore.

The WPL 2023 season will be played at Mumbai and Navi Mumbai.

Smriti Mandhana, at 3.4 crore is the most expensive player of WPL season.

Gujarat Giants, Mumbai Indians, UP Warriorz, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals will compete in WPL 2023.

The WPL 2023 season began on March 4, 2023.

The WPL matches will start at 7:30 PM every evening while on the day of double headers, the first match is from 3:30 PM.

DRS will be available in WPL matches.

Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now