Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 20, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress, AAP nominate candidates for Rajouri Garden bypoll

The political affairs committee of the Aam Aadmi Party has cleared the name of Harjeet Singh as candidate for by-election from Rajouri Garden assembly constituency. Meenakshi Chandela is the Congress’s candidate.

delhi Updated: Mar 18, 2017 23:19 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Rajouri Garden bypoll,MCD,AAP
The Rajouri Garden bypoll is scheduled to be held on April 9. (HT PHOTO)

The Congress and the Aam Aadmi party named their candidates for the Rajouri garden assembly seat, on Friday. The election is scheduled on April 9.

The political affairs committee of the Aam Aadmi Party has cleared the name of Harjeet Singh as candidate for by-election from Rajouri Garden assembly constituency.

Harjeet Singh was born and brought in Delhi. He did his graduation from Delhi University and went on to found a successful Transport business. In 1984, he started his career as a corporate executive and worked in the industry for approximately 25 years with various companies such as M/s Eureka Forbes, Titan Industries, Swatch and Louis Vitton of which he was Regional Director for South Asia.

In 2012, he joined the Anna movement and went on to become a member of Aam Aadmi Party. Like lakhs of other volunteers, he has supported the party in all its endeavours.

He went on to become a committed party leader and one of the pillars of Aam Aadmi Party West Delhi. He has held various positions including Observer of Rajouri Garden Vidhan Sabha. Until recently, he was Chairman of Rajdhani College.

A devout Sikh, he is a regular volunteer at Holy Gurudwara Bangla Sahib.

Congress candidate Meenakshi Chandela comes from a family of politicians which enjoys huge support in the area. She is a two-time councillor of Khyala and her husband Meghraj is also an elected member of the North Delhi Municipal Corporation. He won Vishnu Garden ward second time in a row in 2012. Both these wards are part of the the Rajouri Garden assembly constituency, which was once represented by her father in law-- Dayanand Chandela. He had won the seat on a BJP ticket but later joined Congress in 2008.

A Delhi BJP leader said the candidature for the seat may be announced on Monday. The frontrunners for the constituency are Subhash Arya, RP Singh, and Manjinder Singh Sirsa of Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD-Badal).

Arya is a senior councillor and leader of opposition in South Delhi Municipal Corporation. Singh was MLA from Rajinder Nagar seat and presently hold the post of secretary in BJP. Sirsa is the choice of the SAD (Badal), who has once represented the seat during the Congress’ rule. He had contested the election on BJP symbol. In the recently held Delhi Sikh Gurdwara Management Committee (DGSGMC) election, he had defeated Paramjit Singh Sarna of Congress backed SAD (Delhi) group from Punjabi Bagh ward.

The Rajouri Garden seat fell vacant after AAP legislator Jarnail Singh quit and decided to contest the Punjab assembly polls, against Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal from Lambi, held last month.

“After SAD’s drubbing in Punjab, a section of the party leader is of the view that instead of allowing SAD to contest from this constituency, the BJP should field its own candidate,” said a BJP insider.

On the other hand, an AAP leader said, “The party will soon release the candidate for the seat. A new Sikh face might be given preference.”

First Published: Mar 18, 2017 23:18 IST