DDA to build five new sub-cities in Capital | delhi | Hindustan Times
  • Tuesday, Jul 17, 2018
  •   °C  
Today in New Delhi, India
Jul 17, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

DDA to build five new sub-cities in Capital

Sub-cities in urban extension or rural zones to be set up with help of land-pooling policy.

delhi Updated: Apr 22, 2013 01:51 IST
Sidhartha Roy
Sidhartha Roy
Hindustan Times

In a few years, Delhi is expected to get five new sub-cities on the lines of Dwarka and Rohini, thanks to the Delhi Development Authority’s (DDA) new land-pooling policy.

Since 1961, DDA’s policy has been to acquire large tracts of land to develop housing but that approach hasn’t been able to meet the city’s soaring demand for affordable housing. The land-pooling policy allows developers or large landholders to pool in land for development and get back a share in lieu of it.

“The reason we have been unable to develop the new sub-cities is the shortage of land. Acquiring land is a long and problematic process and that is where land pooling could help,” said a senior DDA official who didn’t wish to be named.

In the last decade, the DDA has been able to provide just 25,000 housing units approximately for a city with a population of 1.67 crore. The new sub cities are expected to provide housing to about 70 lakh more people.

According to the land-pooling policy, private developers will be able to retain 40% of developed land (for areas between 3 hectares and 20 hectares) and 60% of land (for areas above 20 hectares). “The land owners and developers will be able to get back developed land that they can further sell or use, as long as they adhere to the regulations. We expect large number of land owners to come forward, which would provide an impetus for the development of new sub cities,” he said.

The DDA has come out with a public notice recently, asking for suggestions or objections on the new policy. These would go to a board of enquiry and then come back for approval to the authority, after which it will have to be approved by the Urban Development Ministry and notified.

As per the Master Plan of Delhi 2021, zones A to H are urban areas and zones J to P (I and II) are earmarked as urban extension areas or rural areas.