Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 20, 2018-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Decision on Arunachal CM's fate by Friday

The fate of Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Jarbom Gamlin will be decided immediately after Diwali.

delhi Updated: Oct 25, 2011 21:51 IST

The fate of Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Jarbom Gamlin will be decided immediately after Diwali.

The Congress high command will take a decision on a report submitted by a three-member fact finding central team that had been rushed to the hill state following an inner party revolt over the continuation of Gamlin on the post.

"We submitted our report on the ground-level situation in the state to the high command on Monday. A decision will be taken in a day or two…just after Diwali," Dhaniram Shandil, Congress-in-charge for Arunachal Pradesh, told HT.

"The report is our assessment of the ground situation and we have kept in mind the political stability and peace in the state while making the recommendations."

The central leadership is understood to be exploring various options, including replacing Gamlin, with a leader acceptable to all.

Shandil along with Union power minister Sushilkumar Shinde and former minister BK Handique met the party legislators to elicit their views on the possible change of guard.

For the past several months, governance has taken a hit with many MLAs and ministers of both the Gamlin faction and the one led by state Congress president Nabam Tuki who had been camping in New Delhi to lobby for their leaders.

The political fight had also led to cases of violence between supporters and opponents of the two factions in Arunachal Pradesh.

The CM's post was laid vacant after the sudden death of Dorjee Khandu, then chief minister, in a chopper crash on April 30 this year.

The 'hurried and arbitrary' manner in which Gamlin was appointed the CM after Khandu's death and the manner in which portfolios is also believed to have contributed to the problem.

The 60-member state assembly comprises 42 Congress members, 5 from the NCP, 5 from Trinamool, 4 from PPA, 3 from BJP, with one being an independent legislator.

First Published: Oct 25, 2011 21:50 IST