JD(S) suspends 8 legislators, BJP one for cross-voting in RS polls

epaper Updated: Jun 15, 2016 13:16 IST

BENGALURU/LUCKNOW: After the elections, the backlash. The Janata Dal (Secular) suspended eight MLAs on Sunday for cross-voting in favour of a Congress candidate during the Rajya Sabha polls in Karnataka.

The BJP also suspended one legislator who voted for a Samajwadi Party candidate during the upper House elections in Uttar Pradesh. The JD(S) was caught off-guard by the open defiance of the eight legislators as its candidate suffered a humiliating loss, securing just 33 votes against the party strength of 40.

Union Minister Nirmala Sitharaman and Congress’ Jairam Ramesh, Oscar Fernandes and KC Ramamurthy won Rajya Sabha seats from Karnataka.

Party national president and former PM HD Deve Gowda said the eight MLAs were issued notices asking for reasons why they shouldn’t be expelled. He also blamed the Congress of conspiring against his party.

The eight rebels who faced action are Zameer Ahmed Khan, Chaluvaraya Swamy, Iqbal Ansari, Balakrishna, Ramesh Bandisiddegowda, Gopalaiah, Bheema Nayak and Akhanda Srinivas Murthy.

In Uttar Pradesh, MLA Vijay Bahadur Yadav was suspended after he said he voted for the SP based on chief minister Akhilesh Yadav’s development record.

The NDA won 12 seats and the Congress six of the 27 Rajya Sabha seats that went to the polls on Saturday. The BJP-led coalition gained five seats to reach 72 but is still short of the majority mark of 123. The Congress shrank by six but is still an influential opposition with 58 seats.

First Published: Jun 13, 2016 11:15 IST