Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2018-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

More schools in dock for fee hike

A Delhi high court-appointed committee has indicted 58 more private schools for unjustifiably hiking tuition fees by up to 25% in 2009.

delhi Updated: Mar 16, 2013 02:23 IST
Harish V Nair
Harish V Nair
Hindustan Times

A Delhi high court-appointed committee has indicted 58 more private schools for unjustifiably hiking tuition fees by up to 25% in 2009.

After verifying the accounts of 147 schools, the committee in its second report urged the court to direct the managements to refund the increased amount to the parents along with an interest of 9%.

Prominent among the 58 schools asked to refund fees include Delhi Public School, RK Puram. Loreto Convent School, Delhi Cantt and Summer Fields School, Kailash Colony

With the new list, the number of private schools indicted for unjustifiably hiking fees has gone up to 122.

The panel headed by former Rajasthan high court Chief Justice Anil Dev Singh had in its first report submitted in September 2012 hauled up 64 schools for illegally hiking fees after inspecting records of 200 schools and ordered a similar refund.

Apart from the 122 schools indicted for illegal fee hike so far, the panel also found that at least 77 other schools fudged account statements and concealed receipt books making it difficult to ascertain the extent it hiked the fee.

“The greed of substantial number of schools has been uncovered. They capitalized on the government order for unjust enrichment causing great prejudice to students and their parents”, the panel said. The government had allowed the schools to hike the fees to enable them to implement the sixth pay commission report which recommended upward revision of salary of its staff.

The court ordered the inspection of account of all 1,800 private schools in the capital acting on a PIL filed by a parents’ body Delhi Abhibhavak Maha Sangh. Court made it clear that government cannot issue a blanket notification permitting all private schools to hike tuition fees by a certain percentage and it should be based on financial health of each school.

“Panel found 122 schools out of 348 inspected, that is 50% of them, illegally hiked fees. It vindicates our stand that the fee hike was illegal and schools were indulging in commercial exploitation”, said Sangh’s lawyer Ashok Agarwal.

Slamming the government for not having any control over the functioning of the schools, the panel said “regulatory mechanism has been thrown to the winds by Directorate of Education. Schools are behaving in the manner they like. Right from the stage of granting recognition, the lack of supervisory control of the government’s education department is writ large.”

58 schools indicted in second report submitted by the panel to the Delhi high court on March 15, 2013

Delhi Public School, RK Puram
Loreto Convent School, Delhi Cantt
Mount St Mary’s School, Delhi Cantt
Summer Fields School, Kailash Colony
Lovely Buds Public School, Johripur
Diamond Public School, Yamuna Vihar
Sun Smile Public School, Aman Vihar
Vijay Bharati Public School, Badarpur
Glory Public School, Sarita Vihar
Nav Jeevan Adarsh Public School, Brij Puri
BAV Public School, Ghonda
RM Convent School, Palam
Prakash Model School, Mahavir Enclave
Dayanand Model Secondary School, Vivek Vihar
Goodley Public School, Shalimar Bagh
MN Convent Secondary School, Saroop Nagar
Jai Mann Public School, Khera Khurd
Jain Bharti Vidyalaya, GT Karnal Road
Modern Era Convent, Janak Puri
Red Roses Public School, Saket
Bhai Joga Singh Public School, Karol Bagh
Maharaja Agrasen Model School, Pitam Pura
Tagore Modern Public School, Motia Khan
Tagore Modern Public School, Shalimar Bagh
Gyandeep Vidya Bhawan Sr secondary school, Yamuna Vihar
Holy Heart Public School, Mahavir Enclave
Swati Modern Public Seconday School, Mundka
Kamal Convent Public School, Vikas Puri
Shiv Memorial Public School, East Gokalpur
Mahavira International School, Tri Nagar
St.James School, Yamuna Vihar
Vivekanand Convent School, Shahdara
Nalanda Public School, Shahdara
RN Public School, Rani Bagh
Career Public School, Jheel Khuranja
Tagore Public School, Jheel Khuranja
Luxmi Modern Public School, Karawal Nagar
Goodwill Public school, Najafgarh
Raghunath Bal Mandir School, Najafgarh
Holy Child model school, Najafgarh
Sandhya Public School, Chauhan Bangar
St.Marks Sr.Secondary school, Harsh Vihar
Aravali Public School, Naraina
Purnima Public School, Sagarpur
BS Public School, Nangloi
Doon Public School, Janakpuri
National Public School, Jhilmil Colony
BM Bharti Model School, Majri
New Nalanda Public School, Badarpur
Naveen Dabar Secondary Public School, Daulatpur
Sri Guru Harkishan Model School, Tagore Garden
UD Public School Shivaji Park, Shahdara
SM Public School, East Krishna Nagar
Kennedy Public School, Raj Nagar, Palam
Bholi Ram Public School, Najafgarh

64 schools indicted in the first report submitted on September 1, 2012

Guru Harkishan Public Schools (GHPS for short)
GHPS, Hargovind Enclave
GHPS, Purana Qila Road
GHPS, Shahdara
GHPS, Punjabi Bagh
GHPS, Hardhian Singh Road, Karol Bagh
GHPS, Hemkunt Colony
GHPS, Tilak Nagar
GHPS, Hari Nagar
GHPS, Vasant Vihar
GHPS, Nanak Piao
GHPS, Fateh Nagar
GHPS, Vishnu Garden
Karandeep Public School, Bharthal
Maharishi Dayanand Public School, New Moti Nagar
Bhageerathi Bal Shiksha Sadan, Kartar Nagar
Holy Home Public School, Ghonda
Bright Star Public School, Mauj Pur
Universal Public School
Pt.Yaad Ram Secondary Public School, Bhajanpura
New Era Convent School, Sonia Vihar
Dhruv Deep Saraswati Vidya Mandir, Shiv Vihar
Neel Giri Public School, Rama Garden, Karawal Nagar
Abhinav Bharti Bhawan School
Shivalik Public School, Yamuna Vihar
St.Parmanand Public School, Majlis Park
Panacea National Public School, Libas Pur
Nav Jeevan Adarsh Public Sr.Sec school, Gautam Puri
Konark Public School, North Chhajjupur, Shahdra
KLV Convent School, Nehru Vihar
Guru Nanak Public School, Punjabi Bagh
Shiv Mandir Saraswati Bal Vidyalaya, Jai Dev Park
Cosmos Public School, Vasundhara Enclave
Gyandeep Public School, Shivpuri
Amar Jeewan Public School, New Govind Pura
Motherhood Public School, New Usmanpur
Guru Teg Bahadur Public School, Model Town
Chaudhury Chotu Ram Memorial school, Bhagat Singh Park
Guru Amar Daas Public School, Tilak Nagar
Sunhill Public School, Ranjit Nagar
J R Public School, West Sagarpur
JBM Public School, Nasirpur
Paramount International School, Dwarka
Cosmos Sec.School, Badarpur
Vidya Vihar Vidyalaya, Naveen Shahdra
Sevti Devi Memorial V idya Mandir, Mahavir Enclave
Inder Public School, Mandawali
Aster Public School, Mayur Vihar
Veer Public School, Kapashera
Arun Modern Public school, Brijpuri
Rama Public School, Najafgarh
Jesus and Mary Public School, Dwarka Palam Road
Happy Child Model School, Uttam Nagar
Puja Convent School, Uttam Nagar
West Point Model School, Uttam Nagar
G P Public school, Dilshad Colony
St.Krishna Bodh Public School, Main Mandoli Road
Arwachin Shiksha Sadan Public School, Shanti Nagar
Rose Garden Public School, West Ghonda
Adarsh Bharti Public School, Brijpuri
Shibbon Modern Public School, Vijay Colony
Nitya Nand Memorial Public School, Ghonda
Shiva Model Public School, Shahbad Daulatpur
Prakash Deep Saraswati Vidya Mandir, Panchal Vihar

First Published: Mar 15, 2013 21:10 IST