HT Image
HT Image

Shah Rukh, Rani bag GIFA Awards

Shah Rukh and Rani walked away with top honours at the first ever Global Indian Film Awards in Dubai.
PTI | By Indo-Asian News Service, Dubai
PUBLISHED ON JAN 29, 2005 03:06 PM IST

Shah Rukh Khan and Rani Mukherjee walked away with top honours even as the hottest Bollywood stars performed at the first ever Global Indian Film Awards (GIFA) in Dubai.

The event began with the regular red carpet, with beautiful stars and the rich and the famous of Dubai making their entry.

Saif Ali Khan avoided the media as he made an entry with girlfriend Rosa. Arshad Warsi came with his cute baby. Dazzlingly well-dressed were Bipasha Basu, Malaika Arora Khan in a Seema Khan outfit and Perizaad Zorabian in a Gavin Miguel outfit.

The event was hosted by Gulshan Grover and Celina Jaitley. Comedian Suresh Menon and newcomer Neeta Chandra later joined the stage. What was missing was some humour, though Menon did try to impress the Malayalis present.

The performances were amazing, be it Saif or Akshay Kumar who even chose to jump into a water pool while performing. Kareena Kapoor and Lara Dutta performed too. Kareena also requested boyfriend Shahid Kapoor to join her for a number.

Surprisingly there was no award for Best Newcomer in the male category. Special tributes were paid to Amrish Puri, Mehmood and Parveen Babi, all three of whom passed away in the past year.

Among the old-timers present at the event were Helen and Prem Chopra. Shah Rukh and Salman definitely were the biggest attraction of the evening, going by the ecstatic reaction of fans.

The award winners are as follows:

"Main Hoon Na" won for best film; Shah Rukh won the best actor award for "Swades"; Rani Mukherjee won the best actress honour for "Hum Tum"; Farah Khan won the best director award for "Main Hoon Na"; Akshay Kumar won the best actor/supporting for "Mujhse Shaadi Karogi"; Divya Dutta won the best actress/supporting for "Veer-Zaara"; Suniel Shetty won the best actor/negative in "Main Hoon Na"; Priyanka Chopra won the best actress/negative award for "Aitraaz".

Arshad Warsi won the best actor/comedy award for "Hulchul"; Gayatri Joshi won the best newcomer honour for "Swades"; Aditya Chopra won the best story award for "Veer-Zaara"; Abbas Tyrewala and Vishal Bhardwaj won the best screenplay award for "Maqbool"; Kunal Kohli for best dialogues in "Hum Tum"; Pritam won the best music award for "Dhoom"; Abhijeet won the best singer/male award for "Main Hoon Na"; Sunidhi Chauhan won the best singer/female award for "Dhoom".

Sabu Cyril won for best art in "Main Hoon Na"; Rameshwar Bhagat won the best editor award for "Dhoom"; Vikram Phadnis won the best costumes award for "Mujhse Shaadi Karogi"; Prabhu Deva won the best choreography honour for "Lakshya"; Christopher Popp won the best cinematography for "Lakshya"; Allan Amin has got the best action film award for "Main Hoon Na".

Story Saved