Minerva Punjab FC defeat Mumbai FC, register maiden I-League victory

Goals by Baoringdao Bodo, youngest ever to score in I-League, and Anirudh Thapa gave Minerva Punjab FC their maiden I-League victory.

football Updated: Feb 04, 2017 20:42 IST
Minerva Punjab FC,Mumbai FC,I-League
Minerva Punjab FC defeated Mumbai FC in their I-League encounter. (AIFF)

Two goals—one by Baoringdao Bodo, the youngest ever to do so in I-League history, and another by Anirudh Thapa —paved the way for Minerva Punjab FC to register their first win as the hosts beat Mumbai FC 2-1 at Guru Nanak Stadium in Ludhiana on Saturday.

After holding Churchill Brothers to a draw, hosts Minerva FC’s teenagers Baoringdao Bodo (57th minute) and Anirudh Thapa (66th minute) second half strike sealed the fate of Mumbai FC. Karan Sawhney strike in the 77th minute reduced the margin but couldn’t stop the Punjab outfit from clinching their maiden win.

The first half saw both teams coming close but failing the convert the chances. Hosts came close twice, while the visitors also had a great scoring opportunity when veteran international Steven Dias slotted a volley just inches above the target. There was nothing to separate the two teams in the first 45 minutes.

The second half kicked off with more urgency and both teams were eager to break the deadlock. Arashpreet was booked for a challenge on Steven Dias and C Fernandes also picked up a booking.

Minerva managed to break the deadlock when a deflected cross from Anirudh Thapa found Bodo at the right place at the right time.The next came in quick succession for the home team after Thapa scored directly from a free-kick on the left flank, which landed inside the goal beating Mumbai FC custodian Kattimani on the far post.

Mumbai went into attack mode finally were awarded for perseverance when Sawhney heded a Dias’s in-swinger into the goal. Thapa was awarded the Hero of the match trophy. With today’s win, Minerva Punjab FC jumped to the ninth spot in the table with five points.

First Published: Feb 04, 2017 20:42 IST