Today in New Delhi, India
Nov 18, 2018-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

More than half of Gurgaon to come under GMDA

The GMDA will chart development plans for areas within its jurisdiction

gurgaon Updated: Aug 18, 2017 12:11 IST
Rashpal Singh
Rashpal Singh
Hindustan Times
Gurgaon,Gurgaon news,Gurugram news
The GMDA will function as an integrated body for development.(Parveen Kumar/HT FILE)

Newly formed Gurugram Metropolitan Development Authority (GMDA) will cover 54% of Gurgaon district that would be developed as metropolitan area and is likely to be extended up to 70%, said officials.

The metropolitan area would cover all areas under Municipal Corporation of Gurugram, those extending up to Delhi border, Jhajjar border, 2 km beyond Kundli-Manesar-Palwal Expressway and Gwal Pahari towards Faridabad, said a spokesperson of Haryana town and country planning department. The department released a notification in this regard on Thursday.

These areas, including 137 villages, will be developed and maintained by the authority that will function as an integrated body for development of the metropolitan area.

Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar on Tuesday announced that the Governor had given his nod to the GMDA. He announced appointment of Anand Mohan Sharan, principal secretary Urban local bodies, as the first Chief executive officer of the authority. Sharan will hold additional charge of the authority besides discharging his other responsibilities.

“The GMDA area will cover majority of the district to ensure integrated development,” said Sharan. The official order for the IAS officer to assume charge has already been issued.

Read I Gurgaon: Nominations now open for residents’ council of GMDA

V Umashankar, additional CEO, GMDA, and architect of GMDA Bill, said the authority would initially cover a 675-square km area, including 137 villages. Total area of Gurgaon district is 1258 square km.

“Metropolitan area will comprise the whole area specified in Schedule II. It will flesh out development plans such as the Gurugram-Manesar Urban Complex, Development Plan 2031; Farrukhnagar Draft Development Plan; Gwal Pahari, Bandhwari and Balola Development Plan; Sohna Development Plan and Pataudi-Haily Mandi Development Plan,” the official spokesperson said.

Besides, the municipal committee of Farrukhnagar and some gram panchayats of Gurgaon, Manesar and Farrukhnagar tehsils would also be covered under the metropolitan area.

First Published: Aug 17, 2017 22:17 IST