All 3 remaining AAP candidates file nomination in Delhi | Latest News India - Hindustan Times

All 3 remaining AAP candidates file nomination in Delhi

May 04, 2024 05:39 PM IST

All 3 remaining AAP candidates file nomination in Delhi

New Delhi, A candidates from East Delhi, New Delhi and West Delhi Lok Sabha seats filed their nomination papers amid fanfare and in the presence of senior party leaders on Saturday.

All 3 remaining AAP candidates file nomination in Delhi
All 3 remaining AAP candidates file nomination in Delhi

All the three candidates - Kuldeep Kumar , Somnath Bharti and Mahabal Mishra - took out roadshows along with senior A leaders and volunteers of the party before filing nominations.

Now catch your favourite game on Crickit. Anytime Anywhere. Find out how

The A is contesting four of the seven Lok Sabha seats in Delhi in alliance with the Congress. Party candidate from South Delhi Sahi Ram Pehalwan has already filed his nomination.

Kumar, who hails from the Dalit community, sought blessings of his parents and jailed party leader Manish Sisodia's wife as well as offered tributes at Dr B R Ambedkar's statue before embarking on his nomination procession.

In a post on X, Kumar said a youth from an ordinary family hardly dreams about entering politics but Arvind Kejriwal and Sisodia showed confidence in him and gave him a chance to become the voice of A.

Party Rajya Sabha member Sanjay Singh, Delhi minister Atishi and MLA Dilip Pandey among other leaders attended the well attended procession of Kumar.

Atishi said people of Delhi have made up their mind to retaliate against Kejriwal's arrest through votes and the huge crowd gathered in support of Kumar shows he is going to be the next MP of East Delhi, a general constituency.

Singh said Kejriwal has set a significant example by fielding a Dalit community member from the East Delhi seat.

He claimed the BJP will lose all the seven Lok Sabha seats and the INDIA bloc will come to power at the Centre winning 300 seats across the country. The BJP's 'Abki Baar 400 Paar' slogan is hollow and it will not get more than 150 seats in the polls, he said.

Party volunteers and supporters wearing blue and yellow 'pagris' took part in Kumar's procession.

The people wearing yellow and blue colours signifying Bhagat Singh and Ambedkar have come out to protest against dictatorship that has put Kejriwal behind the bars, Kumar said.

Mahabal Mishra's nomination began after prayers at temples in Raghuveer Nagar.

Apart from Sanjay Singh, Delhi minister Kailash Gahlot and Dilip Pandey, Delhi Congress's interim president Devender Yadav also accompanied Mishra in his nomination procession.

In a seat sharing agreement, INDIA combine partners A and Congress are contesting four and three seats respectively in Delhi, giving a direct fight to the BJP.

The nomination process will conclude on May 6. Voting in all the seven seats will be held on May 25.

This article was generated from an automated news agency feed without modifications to text.

Get World Cup ready with Crickit! From live scores to match stats, catch all the action here. Explore now!

See more

Get Current Updates on India News, Budget 2024, Arunachal CM Oath Ceremony Live, Weather Today along with Latest News and Top Headlines from India and around the world.

Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Saturday, June 15, 2024
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Follow Us On