Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 22, 2019-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Four Congress MLAs switch over to BJP in Manipur

The Congress, which won 28 seats in the elections, is now down to 22 after the four MLAs joined the BJP. Two others had quit the party earlier.

india Updated: Apr 28, 2017 15:15 IST
Indo Asian News Service
Indo Asian News Service
BJP,Manipur BJP,Congress
Manipur CM N Biren Singh (in pic) felicitated the four Congress MLAs at the BJP office in Imphal on Friday.(PTI file )

Four Congress MLAs joined the ruling BJP in Manipur on Friday, dealing yet another to the party after two others switched sides since the assembly election loss in March.

The four -- Y. Surchandra, Ngamthang Haokip, O Lukhoi and S Bira -- were felicitated by chief minister N. Biren Singh and state unit president K. Bhabanada at the BJP office.

The first Congress MLA to join the BJP after the election defeat was T. Shyamkumar, who was sworn in as a cabinet minister on March 15. Another MLA, Ginsuanhau Zou, followed him.

In the assembly elections, the ruling Congress bagged 28 seats in the 60-member House to finish as the single largest group. But the BJP, which secured 21 seats, joined hands with other parties to form the government.

“Things have changed after the election. Friends have become foes. There is nothing called principle or ideology. Those who crossed floor are not afraid of disqualification,” said state Congress president TN Haokip.

Meanwhile, speaker Y. Khemchand is examining two petitions seeking disqualification of Shyamkumar and Zou.

First Published: Apr 28, 2017 15:14 IST