Balaji ruled out of ICC Trophy
India received another setback when Balaji was ruled out of the tourney following abdominal strain. His replacement is not yet decided.
India received another set back today when medium pacer Laxmipathy Balaji was ruled out of the ICC Champions Trophy after suffering an abdominal strain.
"We have asked the Board for a replacement on Balaji this morning," informed captain Sourav Ganguly on the eve of India's opening clash against Kenya here.
"We have left it to the Board to decide on who they want to send as a replacement."
Ganguly said the Board might choose anyone who has done well on India A team's tour to Zimbabwe or Zaheer Khan "depending on how fit he is."
Ganguly said Balaji was given an injection in London on September 7 but his condition "has not improved at all since then."
Balaji is the second key member of the team to be ruled out after Sachin Tendulkar who had to withdraw because of a tennis elbow.