BJP to win polls in K'taka

PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Bangalore
May 13, 2004 12:16 PM IST

BJP set to sweep Lok Sabha elections in Karnataka with its nominees maintaining comfortable leads in 16 seats.

BJP appeared set to sweep Lok Sabha elections in Karnataka with its nominees including its state unit president Anantkumar maintaining comfortable leads in 16 constituencies, giving a jolt to the ruling Congress.

HT Image
HT Image

Continuing its dominance in Coastal and North Karnataka belts, BJP established leads in Mangalore, Udupi, Kanara, Dharwad South, Dharwad North, Belgaum, Chikkodi, Bagalkot and Bijpaur, besides making inroads in Kolar and Mysore.

Former police officer, HT Sangliana, baptised into politics by BJP, is giving a run for the money for the Congress veteran and former railway minister CK Jaffer Shariefin Bangalore North Lok Sabha constituency.

Union Minister of state for Railways Basanagouda Patil Yatnal is ahead of his Congress rival BS Patil Managuli in Bijapur.

In the 1999 elections the BJP had won seven seats.

The ruling Congress, struggling under the perceived anti-incumbency factor, is leading in nine constituencies, yielding much of its bastion to BJP and JDS.

Congress, which had 17 seats in its kitty in 1999, is facing a worst ever reverse in Parliamentary polls.

The JDS led by former Prime Minister HD Devegowda is ahead of Congress in Hassan and Mysore Lok Sabha constituencies.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Friday, March 24, 2023
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals