HT Image
HT Image

Dixit among 96 Padma awardees

Laxman, Azim Premji, Shobhana Bhartia and Shahrukh Khan are among the other recipients.
PTI | By Indo-Asian News Service, New Delhi
UPDATED ON JAN 26, 2005 01:35 PM IST

Legendary cartoonist RK Laxman, former Jammu and Kashmir Governor Karan Singh and former National Security Advisor JN Dixit (posthumously), who died this month, were conferred the Padma Vibhushan award on Tuesday, the country's second highest civilian award.

Veteran filmmaker Yash Chopra, Wipro chief Azim Premji, Biocon chairman Kiran Mazumdar Shaw and British-born India-domiciled broadcaster and journalist Mark Tully and singer Manna Dey have been honoured with the Padma Bhushan.

Superstar Shah Rukh Khan, cricketer Anil Kumble and newspaper magnates Shobhana Bhartia of Hindustan Times and Mammen Mathew of Malayala Manorama are among those who have got the Padma Shri awards.

Other winners of the Padma Vibhushan include eminent doctor and dean of Bombay Hospital BK Goyal, Attorney General Milon Banerjee, former minister and community activist Mohan Dharia, industrialist Bhai Mohan Singh, artist Ram Narayan and scientist-educationist MVS Valiathan.

The awards are announced every year a day before Republic Day. For the fourth straight year no one has been conferred the highest civilian honour of Bharat Ratna.

Story Saved