How many states did India have at the time of Independence?

There were no states, but 8 provinces like Punjab, Calcutta, Maratha etc.There were over 560 princely states which acceded to the Indian union.Some princely states like Hyderabad, Junagarh, Tripura and others became a part of India Union only after 1947. Sikkim was the last state to accede in 1975.

india Updated: Aug 10, 2011 11:10 IST

First Published: Aug 10, 2011 11:07 IST