Published on Apr 15, 2004 06:47 PM IST

A large number of voters flocking to the 'mandis' and candidates prefer to interact with them in the market place itself.

HT Image
HT Image
PTI | ByPress Trust of India, Sangrur

The shadow of harvesting looms large on electioneering in Sangrur Lok Sabha seat with a large number of voters flocking to the 'mandis' and candidates preferring to interact with them in the market place itself.

In the constituency, which has the distinction of topping in the production of wheat and paddy, candidates prefer to interact with voters either in markets or at morning and evening corner meetings in rural and urban areas.

The main contenders include SAD-BJP nominee Union Minister Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa, SAD (Amritsar) president Simranjit Singh Mann and Congress nominee Arvind Khanna.

The candidates never miss out raising local issues and hurling accusations making each other responsible for lack of development in the constituency.

They have been visiting colonies, villages and engaging in rounds of door-to-door campaigning.

The failure of SAD President Parkash Singh Badal to broker a truce between warring factions of SAD led by Dhindsa and Andhra Pradesh Governor Surjit Singh Barnala has become a cause of deep concern for the party high command.

The serious threat by Mann to Dhindsa is further adding to the worries of the party as the truce was short lived.

The bickerings are showing its ugly face putting Dhindsa at the receiving end as his protege former Administrative Member of PSEB Gurbachan Singh Bachi has set up parallel election office at Dirba assembly segment suspecting the integrity of Baldev Singh Mann General Secretary SAD.

The division of Akali votes accompanied with SAD factionalism makes Congress' Arvind Khanna feel comfortable on this traditional Akali seat.

Khanna's voluntary organisation Umeed Khanna foundation has emerged as a force to reckon with by rendering medical services at door-steps to under privileged in the constituency.

Barnala won the seat in 1977, 1996 besides SAD's Balwant Singh Ramuwalia in 1985.

The CPI-Congress's Teja Singh retained the seat in 1971, Gurcharan Singh Nihalsinghwala Congress in 1980 and Gurcharan SIngh Dadhahoor in 1992. The SAD (M) Rajdev Singh won in 1989 and SAD (Amritsar) Mann in 1999.

Mann is seeking renewal of mandate on his development oriented performance out of his MPLAD grants. He charges Dhindsa of following dictates of the Hindutva lobby at Delhi.

Get Latest India Newsalong with Latest Newsand Top Headlinesfrom India and around the world.
Story Saved
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Tuesday, September 27, 2022
Start 15 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals