Himachal Pradesh assembly election live results 2017

Hindustan Times brings you real-time updates and analysis of the Himachal Pradesh assembly election results. See results broken down by party, coalition, gender, margin of victory, and more.

Source: Election Commission of India (ECI), Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR)

Also see live results for Gujarat

Hover overTap on a constituency to see details, or... select a constituency.

Geographic analysis

Swipe to see more maps
Voter turnout
What percentage of electors actually voted?
Margin of victory / lead
What's the gap between first and second place?
Did the party that currently holds the seat retain it?

Where parties gained/lost

In 2012, Congress was very strong in the northeastern part of the state, while the BJP was more competitive in the southwestern part. This year, the BJP will look to make gains in the sparsely populated mountainous constituencies to the north and east.


Margin of victory

In 2012, the Himachal Pradesh assembly election featured many close races, with an overall margin of victory under 10%. Only two constituencies saw margins greater than 40%. Will 2017 see so many close races, and so few blowouts?


Know more about the winners

Winning MLAs tend to be male, educated, and wealthy. More often than not, at least some winning candidates stand accused in criminal cases.

Winners declared


How many women won?
How educated are the winning MLAs?
Criminal cases
How many MLAs face criminal charges?
Net assets
How rich are the new members of the state assembly?

Party-wise results

For decades, control of the Himachal Pradesh state assembly has gone back and forth between the BJP and Congress. In 2017, exit polls have predicted the BJP will win the state back from Congress.

Leading candidates

# Result Declared Constituency Party Name Vote share (%) Lead margin (%)

By Harry Stevens, Gurman Bhatia, Samarth Bansal, and Piyush Aggarwal.