Timeline of Left Front government in West Bengal

IANS | By, Kolkata
May 13, 2011 04:33 PM IST

The Left Front exited power in West Bengal after 34 years Friday. Some landmark days from the record long reign:

The Left Front exited power in West Bengal after 34 years Friday. Some landmark days from the record long reign:

June 21: Left Front government, headed by Jyoti Basu, sworn in. First cabinet meeting decides to release political prisoners.

HT Image
HT Image

Sep 29: West Bengal Land (Amendment) Bill passed, paving the way for massive land reforms.

We're now on WhatsApp. Click to join.

June 4: Landslide victory of the Left Front in the three-tier panchayat elections.

July 4: State cabinet reduces voting age in the municipal election from 21 years to 18 years.

May 27: Invalidates binding Code of Conduct upon state government employees, grants them full trade union rights, including the right to call and observe strikes.

Sep 9: The Communist Party of India, the Democratic Socialist Party and the West Bengal Socialist Party join the Left Front.

Sep 23: Assembly accepts proposal favouring autonomy in Darjeeling hills.

April 30: A nun and 16 Ananda Margi monks burnt to death on Bijon Setu in South Kolkata.

May 26: Second Left Front government comes to power.

Oct 24: Metro Rail flagged off.

June 30: First-time poll for Kolkata Corporation under new rule. Left Front wins.

March 23: Landslide victory for Left Front in assembly polls.

Aug 22: Darjeeling Gorkha Hill Council agreement signed in Kolkata.

Jan 10: Left Front chairman Saroj Mukherjee passes away. Sailen Dasgupta takes over.

June 25: Jyoti Basu sworn in as chief minister of the fourth Left Front government.

July 21: Thirteen Youth Congress supporters are shot by police as they try to march to Writers' Buildings.

Jan 30: West Bengal State Human Rights Commission - the country's first ever state-level human rights commission - formed.

Dec 18: Large cache of sophisticated firearms air-dropped in Purulia.

May 20: Fifth Left Front government comes to power.

June 21: Left Front tenders demand for formalising the use of the name 'Kolkata' instead of 'Calcutta'.

Oct 27: Jyoti Basu calls it a day as chief minister.

Nov 6: Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee takes oath as chief minister.

Jan 1: Administrative order for change of name from 'Calcutta' to 'Kolkata' issued.

May 18: The sixth Left Front government, headed by Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, takes charge.

July 10: Left Front chairman Sailen Dasgupta passes away.

July 13: Biman Bose takes over as chairman.

Jan 22 : Terrorist attack in front of American Center in Kolkata.

March 16: Proposal for formation of autonomous board under the Sixth Schedule in Darjeeling hills adopted.

May 18: Seventh Left Front government elected. Tata Motors announces small car Nano project in Singur of Hooghly district.

December: Left Front faces resistance from villagers while acquiring land for plant.

Jan 3: First incident of violence in Nandigram over a land acquisition circular for Chemical hub by Haldia Development Board.

Jan 4: Nandigram turns into a no man's land with framers unwilling to part with their land.

March 14: Left Front police force tries to restore peace in Nandigram. Fourteen killed in police firing.

Nov 11: CPI-M regains control of Nandigram as several opposition activists are killed.

Nov 14: Filmmakers and other artists protest the alleged violence of CPI-M cadres to regain control of Nandigram. Several intellectuals boycott Kolkata Film festival.

Aug 24: Trinamool Congress Chief Mamata Banerjee on sit-in protest in front of Tata plant in Singur. Demands return of 400 acres of land.

Sep 8: Accord reached between Left Front and Trinamool Congress on Singur issue.

Sep 13: Talks between Bhattacharjee and Banerjee fail to break deadlock.

Oct 3: Tata Motors exits Singur.

Nov 2: Bhattacharjee escapes ambush by Maoists in West Midnapore.

Nov 4-10: Maoist-backed Peoples' Committee Against Police Atrocities (PCAPA) formed.

May 16: Left Front loses Lok Sabha polls. Congress-Trinamool Congress alliance grabs 26 seats out of 42.

Feb 8: Left Front announces reservation for minorities.

June 2: Trinamool Congress wins Kolkata Municipal Corporation.

April 18-May 10: Six phase assembly polls held.

May 13: Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress-Congress alliance sweep polls.

"Exciting news! Hindustan Times is now on WhatsApp Channels Subscribe today by clicking the link and stay updated with the latest news!" Click here!
Story Saved
Live Score
Saved Articles
My Reads
My Offers
Sign out
New Delhi 0C
Wednesday, October 04, 2023
Start 14 Days Free Trial Subscribe Now
Register Free and get Exciting Deals