Today in New Delhi, India
May 26, 2019-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Lok Sabha election 2019: Assam’s Tezpur seat may give BJP a headache

BJP’s Ram Prasad Sarmah who won the Tezpur seat in 2014 beating Bhupen Kumar Borah of the Congress has threatened to quit the party if it doesn’t give him a ticket .

lok sabha elections Updated: Apr 11, 2019 10:41 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times, New Delhi
Lokl Sabha elections 2019,Geneal election,Elcetion news
BJP’s Ram Prasad Sarmah won the Tezpur Lok Sabha in Assam in 2014 but there is doubt whether the party will field him this time.(HT PHOTO)

Tezpur is a vital Parliamentary constituency in Assam spread across Lakhimpur, Sonitpur and Udalguri districts. The BJP’s Ram Prasad Sarmah won the seat in 2014 beating Bhupen Kumar Borah of the Congress. Tezpur had long been a Congress stronghold before the Asom Gana Parishad stopped the grand old party in 2009.

Over the last two years, Ram Prasad Sarmah has fallen out with the and there is speculation that the party may nominate Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, the convenor of the North East Democratic Alliance to contest the seat. He has threatened to quit the BJP if Sarma is nominated in his place.

Voting in Tezpur will take place on April 11.

An advocate by qualification, the MP’s relation with the BJP began to sour about two years ago after he accused the state government of going soft on the Assam Public Service Commission recruitment scam.

According to the 2011 census, out of total 2132438 population 91% is rural and 9% is urban population. The Scheduled castes (SC) and Scheduled tribes (ST) ratio is 5.91 and 13.23, respectively out of total population. A large number of the electorate are tea garden workers.

Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency in numbers:

Name of the Lok Sabha constituency: Tezpur

Reservation nature of constituency: General

2019 candidates: Pallab Lochan Das (BJP), Mgvk Bhanu (Congress)

Date of polling: April 11

Sitting MP, Party: Ram Prasad Sarmah, BJP

Winning margin in 2014: 132,446 votes

Runner up name, party: Bhupen Kumar Borah, Congress

Number of voters in 2014: 980,688

Percentage of votes polled in 2014: 77.86

Number of polling booths in 2014: 1763

Number of women voters: 604,702

First Published: Mar 12, 2019 16:46 IST

Get the latest news and live updates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019, seat stats, constituency and election news on Follow us on FB and Twitter to get the fastest updates on election results 2019, party-wise votes stats, wins and leads, vote share of parties and many more interesting election facts.