Today in New Delhi, India
May 13, 2019-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Names of sunken submarine's 18 sailors released

The defence ministry late on Thursday released the names of the 18 sailors and officers who were aboard the submarine INS Sindhurakshak that sank in Mumbai the day before after explosions.

mumbai Updated: Aug 16, 2013 09:34 IST

The defence ministry on late on Thursday released the names of the 18 sailors who were aboard the submarine, INS Sindhurakshak, which exploded and sank at the naval dockyard in Mumbai on Wednesday.

The three officers among them are lieutenant commanders Nikhilesh Pal, Alok Kumar and R Venkitaraj. The other sailors are Sanjeev Kumar, KC Upadhyay and Timothy Sinha (all POUW-I), Kewal Singh (LSUC-I), Sunil Kumar (SEA I UW-III), Dasari Prasad (Mech-R 2), Liju Lawrence (LEMP), Rajesh Tootika (LME), Amit K Singh (STD-I), Atul Sharma and Vikas E. (both SEA-I), Naruttam Deuri (ME-I), Malay Haldar (EMR-II), Vishnu V (RO-II) and Seetaram Badapalli (LS RP-I).

Eight of the 18 missing sailors were married.

Indian Navy is continuing round-the-clock efforts to ascertain the status of these sailors who were trapped inside the submarine after the tragedy struck.

Late Wednesday, a team of navy divers succeeded in entering the sunken submarine but the trapped personnel were neither sighted nor rescued, a defence ministry statement said.

The rescue efforts were hampered by poor visibility inside the submarine filled with water, restricted spaces and displacement of most equipment from their original location. Heavy duty pumps have been deployed to pump out sea water.

The cause of the accident is still not clear.

The tragedy is one of the worst to hit the Navy since the sinking of INS Khukri in the 1971 Indo-Pak war.

The INS Sindhurakshak was a kilo class submarine that had undergone a major refit at Russia’s Zvezdochka shipyard. The submarine was 15 to 20 metres away from the jetty in the sea when the accident took place.

First Published: Aug 16, 2013 09:13 IST