Today in New Delhi, India
Oct 15, 2018-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Now, explore planets and moons in our solar system through Google Maps

Google Maps has also added imagery of planets such as Pluto, Venus and several other moons in our solar system.

tech Updated: Oct 18, 2017 11:34 IST
Indo Asian News Service
Indo Asian News Service
Indo Asian News Service
Google Maps,Google Maps For Ios,Google Maps For Android
Love stargazing? Check out Google Maps’ latest feature.(Google)

Google has announced a new update to its Google Maps that allows users to explore planets and moons in our solar system using Google Maps.

Google Maps now enables a visit to Saturn’s natural satellites such as Enceladus, Dione or Iapetus, Rhea and Mimas as well as Jupiter’s Europa and Ganymede.

“Explore the icy plains of Enceladus, where Cassini discovered water beneath the moon’s crust-suggesting signs of life. Peer beneath the thick clouds of Titan to see methane lakes,” Stafford Marquardt, Product Manager at Google, said in a blogpost on Monday.

Google has also added to its lineup imagery of Pluto, Venus and several moons as well as made it easier to find them in Maps.

“We’ve added Pluto, Venus, and several other moons for a total of 12 new worlds for you to explore,” Marquardt added. To access the new imagery, one can just zoom out from terrestrial Google Maps view until you hit outer space.

One can also visit the International Space Station, which also joined Google’s Street View program. The company stated that it worked with astronomical artist Bjorn Jonsson, who assembled the maps of planets and moons to its service, by working with imagery from US space agency NASA and the European Space Agency.

First Published: Oct 18, 2017 11:32 IST