Snapchat’s new feature lets users delete unread messages
Snapchat will now let users delete messages from chats, only if they’re unread.tech Updated: Jun 12, 2018 18:33 IST
Snapchat is rolling out a new feature which will let users delete messages in chats. This feature is called “clear chat” and will be available for one-to-one conversations and group chats as well. This applies to all content sent on chats including text, photo, video, sticker and more.
Snapchat, as an app is already big on keeping chats discreet as they disappear after they’re read by the recipient. With the new feature, Snapchat is giving users another option by letting them delete messages before they are read.
How to use Snapchat’s new feature
On the left side of the app you will find the section where all your chats are stored.
Tap on the message and simply select the “delete” option.
Snapchat will delete the selected message from the chat.
However your friend who is the recipient will be alerted that a message has been deleted.
Snapchat’s new feature is similar to WhatsApp’s “delete for everyone” which also notifies users that a message has been deleted. WhatsApp however allows users more than an hour’s time to delete messages that have been sent.
Snapchat is gradually rolling out this feature to users across the globe. Update your app to the latest version to see if you’ve received the feature.